HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: New update?  (Read 1260 times)

nocake

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • BlightMMO
New update?
« on: Aug 10, 16, 07:53:55 PM »

Is there an update being released for heroengine or do you mean update on the status?
You say update and news.

Looking for some clarification please.

Is there any update on the occlusion problem?

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: New update?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 10, 16, 08:28:47 PM »

It's an update on development progress, not an actual patch/hotfix - although the occlusion system does actually work as normal, just not the way that it displays to users.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

HE-JONATHAN

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: New update?
« Reply #2 on: Aug 10, 16, 08:36:48 PM »

As the post and the  links to the news article/roadmap it shows current development and where we stand currently on the next major update (DX11, Render engine ect..)  Without our testing on the internal servers updates could be disastrous for your teams.  This is to show where we stand and give a estimated time line/frame on which the next updates should be coming.   

The post is for communication as to what we are working on and give you an idea of what to expect in the coming weeks.

We have to balance our development priorities to what we can currently do and what will effect future updates Fixing one problem might have the desired effect for the short term but may hinder or even break development of the engine over all on future updates making development of our end result take even longer.

In answer to your Occlusion issue check your numbers.  The draws are down and it is working better than before. 
Logged

nocake

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • BlightMMO
Re: New update?
« Reply #3 on: Aug 10, 16, 09:30:59 PM »

Hey Jonathan,

Thanks for the reply and the clarification that their wont be an update yet.
I understand the deployment process and how hard this transition can be.
All is good in regards to the post.

But now I am confused by your comment:

"In answer to your Occlusion issue check your numbers.  The draws are down and it is working better than before. "

It was stated that the Blade client was the only thing broken for occlusion so we cant really check the numbers through the scene stats tab.

We tested in the Player Client as well and it would appear that the Player Client is also broken as it did not occlude the model behind the default occlusion model or the ones we tried importing.

We haven't seen an improvement anywhere yet. From what date would this have been from?

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: New update?
« Reply #4 on: Aug 10, 16, 10:35:49 PM »

Just a note here on something you mentioned above:

Quote
We tested in the Player Client as well and it would appear that the Player Client is also broken as it did not occlude the model behind the default occlusion model or the ones we tried importing.

How were you able to test this?  When any portion of a model is visible to the "camera", it cannot be occluded.
(this was sometimes not true before the recent work/updates, which is why the work was necessary) 
Occlusion assets have to completely hide other assets from the cameras field of view before the objects intended for occlusion are occluded, however, this isnt always perfect, but the work atm has far improved the reliability of the occlusions.

The stats are the only way to determine that occlusion is taking place.

nocake

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • BlightMMO
Re: New update?
« Reply #5 on: Aug 10, 16, 11:08:53 PM »

To my knowledge you should be able to create a texture-less model with occlusion.

That model will block anything behind it but not around it.

as shown in the first pic of this post:
https://community.heroengine.com/forums/index.php/topic,6264.msg35308.html

We tried every property setting.
You yourself confirmed we were exporting correctly.

nocake

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • BlightMMO
Re: New update?
« Reply #6 on: Aug 16, 16, 05:54:59 PM »

Am I wrong?

This is an incredibly frustrating topic as it seems to be broken on both player client and blade client.