HeroEngine Forums

HeroEngine Support => Design & World Building => Topic started by: Cruscin96 on May 08, 11, 09:54:41 PM

Title: [Resolved] Seamless world
Post by: Cruscin96 on May 08, 11, 09:54:41 PM
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to Heroengine and I am trying to figure out how to make a seamless world. There is a post already but I have no idea what they are talking about. Does anyone have a step by step tutorial on how to make a seamless world? Thanks.
Title: Re: Seamless world
Post by: FI-ScottZ on May 08, 11, 11:14:13 PM
I don't know if it is so much of a tutorial, but this wiki page (http://hewiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Seamless_World_2.0) is a good place to start.
Title: Re: Seamless world
Post by: sbradshaw on May 18, 11, 02:33:42 PM
that page is perfect.  we used the v1.0 for like 3 hours till we noticed a v2.0 was out...so much easier...but i think the 1.0 would be better for dungeons and inside most big buildings.
Title: Re: Seamless world
Post by: Cruscin96 on May 21, 11, 09:43:36 PM
Thanks for the help guys. I think you saved me a bunch of time haha.
Title: Re: Seamless world
Post by: sbradshaw on May 27, 11, 03:58:21 AM
bookmark the wiki...its hasnt failed yet.  Kudo thnx team for making the wiki =)
Title: Re: Seamless world
Post by: JoshHalls on May 27, 11, 01:24:48 PM
We just got done creating a series of scripts that will take a 2km heightmap and split it into 16 500m zones and then do all of the hard work of creating the links and shifting the terrain over to the appropriate zone.  Probably will release it here soon as it looks to be working properly, but wanted to test a few things.  Took a very tedious process and turned it into a 15 minute adventure.
Title: Re: Seamless world
Post by: Corpsejacked on May 27, 11, 06:34:40 PM
Hahahaa... and to think I am on my last 20 areas of 400. Oh well hope you guys get it working nicely.
Title: Re: Seamless world
Post by: Taschenmogul on May 28, 11, 03:50:17 PM
@joshhalls: Would get you a lot of karma if you released that script to the community. ;-)
Title: Re: Seamless world
Post by: JoshHalls on May 28, 11, 04:17:56 PM
I might need to do some more testing, I had James try it and it wasn't working properly.   Will probably have to see about trying it on a clean world.  We also had some issues it seems with building navmesh for 16 zones, still working that out as well as to what the best process is there.