HeroEngine Forums

HeroEngine Support => Design & World Building => Topic started by: jamespro on May 19, 11, 01:46:58 PM

Title: [Resolved] Phasing...
Post by: jamespro on May 19, 11, 01:46:58 PM
Is Phasing possible? Could we for instance change a ground texture based on some event for example make the ground burnt after some fire spell is cast? Is it possible to set it up so a town is built over time and the players could see the town being built?
Title: Re: Phasing...
Post by: Mikey90 on May 19, 11, 04:02:13 PM
That's not called phasing its called adding decals to textures. And i'm pretty sure it should be available through the FX system.
Title: Re: Phasing...
Post by: JoshHalls on May 19, 11, 04:44:53 PM
He is refering to what WoW calls phasing.  It is how they present some quests and different legs of it so things change during different legs of it (without changing it for everyone else who isn't in that phase). 
Title: Re: Phasing...
Post by: jamespro on May 19, 11, 05:16:06 PM
Yes that is correct... Just wondering if that is possible.
Title: Re: Phasing...
Post by: Mikey90 on May 20, 11, 10:38:39 AM
My apologies I only saw the first part of his post. That would be decals. The second part, I have no clue. But, since HE has real time collaboration I'm sure there's a way to do it.
Title: Re: Phasing...
Post by: FI-ScottZ on May 20, 11, 10:45:10 AM
If you are looking to do things that would only be visible to some clients, but not all, you would want to look into prop buckets (http://hewiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Prop_buckets).  Those provide a strictly client-side way to create objects without having to do so in the server world.
Title: Re: Phasing...
Post by: jcsmith562 on May 21, 11, 08:31:09 PM
Another thing WoW does with their phasing is making certain monsters or objects visible to certain players but not to anyone else in the same area. They use that for when you go into visions or ghost form. You could manipulate the Spatial Awareness system to do things like that.

For burnt ground though an easy quick thing if its a static area would be to use FX and a trigger (which you might already be using for an exploration point) to check the status when they enter the area. Then play a client side FX to modify if necessary.