HeroEngine Forums

HeroEngine Support => Design & World Building => Topic started by: HE-Cooper on Feb 19, 13, 02:12:34 PM

Title: Using the SpeedTree Store
Post by: HE-Cooper on Feb 19, 13, 02:12:34 PM
I've had a number of cloud developers ask about using SpeedTree Models purchased from the Speedtree.com store. You can absolutely purchase assets directly from Speedtree, and if you don't have experienced artists on your team then it can be an easy way to get great looking assets quickly.

All you have to do is run trees you've purchased from their store through the compiler, just like in our speedtree tutorial video. I've attached a screenshot of two random trees from their store shown in engine:
Title: Re: Using the SpeedTree Store
Post by: bytedisorder on Feb 21, 13, 11:55:58 PM
Doesn't the speedtree license include the assets for the trees in the store now? SpeedTree For Games incudes a 180 species model library: http://www.speedtree.com/video-game-development.php

Is there any chance of adding this to the downloads section?  :o
Title: Re: Using the SpeedTree Store
Post by: PN-Dwight on Feb 22, 13, 04:07:08 AM
Doesn't the speedtree license include the assets for the trees in the store now? SpeedTree For Games incudes a 180 species model library: http://www.speedtree.com/video-game-development.php

Is there any chance of adding this to the downloads section?  :o

Idea Fabrik did not license the SpeedTree for Games license. IF has a custom license, which does not include the library.
Title: Re: Using the SpeedTree Store
Post by: bytedisorder on Feb 22, 13, 08:34:00 AM
Hahaha, well it was worth a try!

SpeedTree is still a sick program at any rate.
Title: Re: Using the SpeedTree Store
Post by: keeperofstars on Feb 23, 13, 11:59:50 AM
Cooper do you know if we were to build speedtrees to add to the HE- Asset store when it goes live if we can or does that violate the license we have?
Title: Re: Using the SpeedTree Store
Post by: CRiley on Dec 04, 13, 12:13:48 PM
Cooper do you know if we were to build speedtrees to add to the HE- Asset store when it goes live if we can or does that violate the license we have?


That's a damn good question, I hadn't thought about this issue myself and am now extremely curious as to the answer...
Title: Re: Using the SpeedTree Store
Post by: FI-ScottZ on Dec 04, 13, 09:08:14 PM
The proposed asset store got cancelled due to lack of interest in participation.