HeroEngine Forums

HeroEngine Support => General Discussion => Topic started by: Alexander on Jul 15, 13, 12:56:05 PM

Title: Change local repository directory
Post by: Alexander on Jul 15, 13, 12:56:05 PM
Hey,
   
   As the title says is there a way for me to change where the data is being  downloaded to? I have no more room on C and i want to have a custom folder as  the local repository cache. I assume there is a way to do this but i have no idea how. I have been searching the wiki and nothing.
Title: Re: Change local repository directory
Post by: HE-Cooper on Jul 15, 13, 01:28:38 PM
This is a windows UAC requirment/limitation for environments like a game engine that require access to lower levels of and constantly changing data.
Title: Re: Change local repository directory
Post by: Alexander on Jul 15, 13, 01:36:25 PM
so what you are saying is that there is no way for me to change the local repository cache folder?
Title: Re: Change local repository directory
Post by: PN-Dwight on Jul 15, 13, 03:39:23 PM
With the operation system that you are running, the installation directory has to be in the lower levels of your primary drive.

You can mimick the HE repository however in each folder you like almost everywhere (as long as the path does not contain spaces or special characters)
Title: Re: Change local repository directory
Post by: Alexander on Jul 15, 13, 04:34:10 PM
Well that's a shame. Thanks for the replies anyway. I'll probably end up cleaning my drive so i can get the space i need.
Title: Re: Change local repository directory
Post by: FI-ScottZ on Jul 15, 13, 08:38:22 PM
You could  try creating a boot partition on another drive that has more room on it and install Windows  on that and then Hero there and just boot into that when you want to use Hero.  But I suppose that is a little extreme.
Title: Re: Change local repository directory
Post by: keeperofstars on Jul 15, 13, 09:29:28 PM
Depending on your OS and knowledge you can increase your c drive partition, while not having to redo stuff.


Title: Re: Change local repository directory
Post by: Inphinity on Aug 05, 13, 08:06:21 PM
You can probably achieve this with a symlink to direct the necessary folder to a location on another volume.
Title: Re: Change local repository directory
Post by: mcantero on Jan 21, 15, 04:52:20 PM
You can probably achieve this with a symlink to direct the necessary folder to a location on another volume.

This is a little out of date but maybe someone that review this like me need the confirmation. Symlink works for redirect cache folder.

Cheers.