HeroEngine Forums

HeroEngine Support => General Discussion => Topic started by: Amanda_Brooks on Jun 10, 15, 04:29:44 PM

Title: Quartz E Update
Post by: Amanda_Brooks on Jun 10, 15, 04:29:44 PM
For the new update tomorrow, should we do a full uninstall of all the current HE software first, or just overwrite it with the new version, as the last update caused a few problems without a full uninstall first?
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: Thazager on Jun 10, 15, 07:06:56 PM
I will hope that the update is able to remove things that need to be removed, in order for it to properly update, or at least check to see if they exist then removed if need.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: FI-ScottZ on Jun 10, 15, 08:18:18 PM
Last time it was best to uninstall first, so probably best to do that again.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: HE-SCOTT on Jun 11, 15, 07:47:04 AM
We believe we have corrected the need to uninstall first assuming you have the latest version, Quartz.D, installed. Prior installed versions will still need to be uninstalled first because the installer was a different version and unfortunately can not be autoupdated.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: HE-SCOTT on Jun 11, 15, 01:11:45 PM
There does appear to be a separate issue with installs in some cases where some files are not installed with the new installer. This will lead HeroBlade to crash on startup. Should this happen a clean install corrects the issue. We will push and update for this when we have it fixed.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: Prometheus2012 on Jun 11, 15, 07:11:48 PM
new updater sucks. breaks everything requiring a total uninstall reinstall again
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: BCI3DLLC on Jun 11, 15, 09:17:51 PM
reinstalls and fresh installs on new computers are not working
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: Thazager on Jun 12, 15, 02:19:52 PM
I have noticed that when the person is not sitting at the computer ready to click the buttons when the download completes, this will throw an error. I have downloaded the heroblade 3 times, and when I stayed to watch what was happening, I saw the gui pop up for clicking and everything was fine. The other 2 times I was afk when it completed, and I came back to the error.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: HE-SCOTT on Jun 12, 15, 03:07:21 PM
Can you post a screenshot of the error you are getting as well as the name of the product you were trying to update?
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: BCI3DLLC on Jun 12, 15, 05:41:10 PM
Ok Hero blade seems to load ok although I have not been able to awaken any of my worlds because it takes sooooooo long to connect to the server.  I don't know how long it takes to connect as I have not had the patience to wait it out yet

the player client gives this error after a reinstall on my laptop and a similar error just with a different .dll on a brand new computer with a brand new install post quartz e update.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: Thazager on Jun 12, 15, 06:45:46 PM
I currently have all downloaded and connected, but I am remembering something about error 54, if that helps any.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: BCI3DLLC on Jun 12, 15, 07:10:39 PM
I can get into blade just fine but player client doesn't work anymore.  That's bad, I have Alpha players using the client, players that cant play anymore and are wondering whats going on. As am I?
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: Amanda_Brooks on Jun 12, 15, 07:20:02 PM
Have those players done a  full uninstall of the client before installing the new one?
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: BCI3DLLC on Jun 12, 15, 08:46:20 PM
I don't know but I have.  several times.  I even did a bran new install on a a brand new computer.  The hero devs will come back with something I'm sure.  Isn't anyone else having trouble with their client?
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: HE-Cooper on Jun 12, 15, 10:22:15 PM
It may be a configuration issue specific to your alpha world and it's player client. We're looking into it.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: ToY-Krun on Jun 12, 15, 10:24:31 PM
Same errors after install here as well, client only, had no problems with blade update.

if you still have a copy of the prev version it might be possible that its still useable (using .exe rather than .heal temporarily) until its fixed.


*correction*
I uninstalled the client again, but this time deleted directory (except for backup) and redownloaded/installed the client, no errors this time and client loads up okay.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: HE-SCOTT on Jun 13, 15, 08:25:54 AM
Ok Hero blade seems to load ok although I have not been able to awaken any of my worlds because it takes sooooooo long to connect to the server.  I don't know how long it takes to connect as I have not had the patience to wait it out yet

the player client gives this error after a reinstall on my laptop and a similar error just with a different .dll on a brand new computer with a brand new install post quartz e update.

We have tested the installer for your game and then updating to the latest Player Client version from that. That works for us internally in multiple setup environments. It will help us correct the issuse if you follow up with answers to the questions below at support@heroengine.com.

When you uninstall can you confirm that the installed files are fully removed? How are you performing the installation? Please detail which download you used.  Did you change the install directory to a different directory than the default? Is it possible you have any antivirus software running preventing files being written out or deleting during uninstall?

If you encounter and install that doesn't work please attach the install log in the email as well. This is located at C:\users\<your user name>\AppData\Local\Temp\PlayerclientHC022.log under windows 7.

We have tested the deployed Player Client and it works correctly for a fresh install assuming the directory its being installed too does not have files left over from a prior install. We have only seen issues with upgrade installs depending on the prior installed version.

We understand this situation is not acceptable and we are working to correct the issues quickly. The more information we have about how the installs can fail will help us pinpoint what needs to be corrected.
Title: Re: Quartz E Update
Post by: BCI3DLLC on Jun 14, 15, 10:39:28 AM
OK I don't know what kind of chicken waving voodoo happened during this latest install but its working now.  Actually I think my antivirus was preventing a proper install.  I disabled it on both my computers and both my computers are now running the client.  Thanks for the suggestions in you last post.