HeroEngine Forums

HeroEngine Support => General Discussion => Topic started by: HE-Cooper on Aug 23, 11, 04:53:10 PM

Title: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: HE-Cooper on Aug 23, 11, 04:53:10 PM
It can be about anything, script, world building, art pipeline, anything. I will begin, and I will list two because I'm awesome.

Selecting an object with the dynamic selection tool and then spamming cntrl-D will allow you to place the same object over and over again wherever your mouse moves.

The plateau terrain tool can have its pitch and yaw changed by holding modifier keys and mouse wheeling. This allows you to make smooth ramps and roads that wrap along the sides of mountains and things.

Title: Re: List a tip for working in the HeroEngine
Post by: FI-ScottZ on Aug 23, 11, 05:16:20 PM
Programmers:

Besides the Chat and Console panels, be sure to use the Script Error window.  When it spews the stack trace of scripts and line numbers, you can double-click the lines in the Script Error window and the Script Editor will open that script and go right to that line.

I don't know if this is mentioned in the wiki; I didn't realize this until I was playing around.

And don't eat the yellow snow.
Title: Re: List a tip for working in the HeroEngine
Post by: RealityX on Aug 23, 11, 11:21:46 PM
Art Server:

Having every one working on the same sheet of music from remote locations is easily accomplished with a linux VPS, samaba, and hamachi vpn. Its secure too =)
Title: Re: List a tip for working in the HeroEngine
Post by: HE-HERB on Aug 24, 11, 11:34:45 AM
Do not delete or rename files or folders in the repository if you don't know exactly what they're for. 

Many of the files in the repository are the glue that makes the GUI or camera or character work.

So, don't rename or delete them until you have your new system in place and working

Cheers
Title: Re: List a tip for working in the HeroEngine
Post by: HE-CHRISTOPHER on Aug 24, 11, 12:15:12 PM

Area Builders:


Programmers:

HeroScript has nearly total access to everything in the engine, this allows you to extend the engine to provide new tools.



Artists:

Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: HE-Cooper on Aug 25, 11, 01:25:57 PM
Terrain Based Caves:

You can have multiple heightmaps in an area, and you can invert heightmaps. Which means you can easily make caves and other structures by stitching a regular and an inverted heightmap together.
Title: Private "Methods"
Post by: FI-ScottZ on Aug 31, 11, 06:45:44 AM
The way to fake a private "method" is to define a function (private) which accepts a NodeRef of the script's class.  Then pass the 'me' node (or other node) to that function when appropriate and use that NodeRef in the function.

Quote
factoid:  While I prefer passing 'me' into the function call as Scott indicates, the engine actually does set the 'me' node appropriately in the use case where a method calls a private function it maintains 'me' as the same node from the method call.  ~Christopher

I find that a good way to keep the HeroSense listing of methods from being cluttered up with a lot of methods that are not intended to be part of the public interface.
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: HE-Nate on Sep 02, 11, 09:45:37 AM
Programmers:
If you're looking for a particular method in order to accomplish some task, but don't know where it might be or even what it is called, run a search in all scripts (Ctrl Shift A) for likely substrings. When you've found something promising, you can click on the method call in script and hit Alt G to go to its declaration.

Take the time to read these articles before immediately jumping into HSL. You'll thank yourself later.
http://hewiki.heroengine.com/wiki/HSL_for_programmers
http://hewiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Do%27s_and_Don%27ts_of_HSL
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: Stadi_Thompson on Sep 10, 11, 12:46:07 PM
If you turn your keyboard upside down you will see a red button labelled "EASY". Push that and your mmo will create itself automatically, the output will be a WOW killer.

Anyway... to reduce texture stretching and distortion on steep cliffs use the Soften>Slope Smoothing in the terrain brush panel. Works very well and keeps your cliff steep.
Title: Change Debug Message Font Size
Post by: FI-ScottZ on Nov 25, 11, 11:36:56 PM
I just accidentally discovered that if you click in the output part of the console panel (where the messages appear, not the input box) and then use Control-Scroll Wheel, the text changes size.  The same is for the chat panel.
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: Viper_Simulations on Oct 28, 12, 03:58:35 AM
Programmers

You can press ctrl+T to turn on a debug output showing you info on the object the mouse is currently over. Turn this off with ctrl+T again.

I find this very useful for debugging mouse selection features and to just see what is around in the scene.
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: FI-ScottZ on Dec 07, 12, 09:14:05 PM
In the GUI texture viewer of the GUI editor, in which you set the texture coordinates, the SelectedHover tab was disabled.  I am not sure why, but to re-enable it, open the guixml script _cleanenginetextureviewer.xml and on line 249:

Code: (hsl) [Select]
<_tab name='selectedHover' enabled='false'>
remove the enabled='false' part, compile and submit.

I also adjust the size of the window to better fit my standard viewport, but that's just me.

If you make this change, then like changing any clean engine script, make note of it so it can be restored if an engine update overwrites it in the future.
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: Thazager on Jul 08, 13, 04:08:42 AM
Seeing the text in the script editor.


Under Tools, Syntax Highlighting Editor are the color values the user can set. The Identifier is the basic text on screen, normally a lt grey in color, I set to 0,128,128. String default is the text inside strings, I also found hard to see. I set this to 64,64,0.
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: keeperofstars on Jul 08, 13, 12:01:51 PM
When building / working with animations remember these two key factors.

1. The Default controller is set to always have Combat turned on. In your animation script file make sure you account for this, if you are using the default controller. If you program your script to only include normal your character or npc will not function.

2. The default controller is set to always run. When trying to test your walkrun animation files and setup, remember this the character will always run by default. You can however test your scripts and setup are working by holding down ctrl  while moving to force walk, and holding shift down to force a sprint, if your walkrun is setup the character or npc should do all 3 states of movement, walk, run, sprint (which is just a faster run loop)

Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: keeperofstars on Jul 20, 13, 10:56:08 PM
When creating or adding values to an Enumeration the value cannot start with a number.

So

\medav "WeaponTypes"; "1_handed" "2handed"

Will fail with invalid values in both cases.

You can however use numbers in the values just not start with.
So

\medav "WeaponTypes"; "Hand2Hand" "Twin_daggers01"  does work

Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: keeperofstars on Aug 04, 13, 12:10:27 AM
Control your water flow direction.

So you want to control the direction of your water flow? use combination of negative and positive values for your wave width and depth, when in ocean or river mode.

both with negative will reverse it, to run the other direction, one positive the other negative will cause it to run at a diagonal pattern, and flipping those pos/neg values will swap the diagonal flow pattern the other way.

Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: keeperofstars on Aug 04, 13, 12:12:06 AM
making good looking water,

make your water scheme dynamic lighting, from here you can control nearly every aspect of your water, and make it really look good.

Good use of fog, and coloring smoothed fog blending and some dedication can give you a really impressive water look, that is very lifelike.

Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: keeperofstars on Aug 19, 13, 12:17:27 PM
Faster Ocean building,

If you have a bunch of Ocean tiles that need to be built, or more importantly whole areas of ocean. Take the time to make a default Ocean area that you take time making all the painstaking adjustments to. Ensuring the fog works like it should for the water, the waves look good, water depth is ok, some bottom ocean texture, some foliage if needed, etc.

When you create your new area delete the default heightmap, and import from your other area, everything will come into play perfectly.

This greatly speeds up the process, it's one thing to put in a terrain and terraform it, it's another to spend 30 minutes an area to duplicate your work, cause all ocean area's tend to be the same by default, and need lots of the same things, configured.  for all the oceans areas. This saves a bunch of time. Also greatly helps keep water position and height the same for all the areas. This can be a bit trickier with ocean as you have two planes to deal with the bottom terrain and the top water, both need to line up exactly to prevent a glitch feeling.

Do note: When you use the import tool, the assets are placed in a Default_Import1 room. You need to change the room's visibility properties for it to show up when seamless linking, or move all assets to Default. Other than that you can take your time from 30 minutes per ocean area to about 2 minutes.

Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: Thazager on Mar 28, 14, 09:38:36 PM
Programming GUIs.

If you have a dropdown list that seems to be behind all the other parts of the GUI and you want it on top, set the layer to the same as your main window for that GUI.
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: Thazager on Nov 22, 14, 11:31:48 PM
Programmers:
Make sure field names don't match prototype names when contained in the same GUI (maybe anytime).

I had an error, which took a few hours to go through the GUI, and eventually found the duplicate names. I had recently added a new field to an old GUI prototype.
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: keeperofstars on Nov 23, 14, 06:46:26 PM
Make sure you never duplicate field names or names period. We actually maintain a list of any name we create on a spreadsheet, just to make sure we don't run into this error. Hardest part is it's not easy to spot as thazager points out.
Title: Re: Add Your Tip or Trick for Working in the HeroEngine
Post by: Thazager on Aug 14, 15, 12:17:26 AM
fieldName change

Name can be changed right in the name slot in the DOM, (I had to change a name recently.)
This is very useful.

Without making a new field and adding it, then removing old field. It replaced all old names with the new one in the classes and scripts.
It might also work with classes/script names?

add:
One thing to be careful about, is using a name that might already exist, like from a prototype.