HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Animation set crash  (Read 4844 times)

mikaelperssonse

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
[Resolved] Animation set crash
« on: Oct 31, 11, 10:12:01 AM »

Hello forum,
I have just started using the Hero engine because a client of mine wanted me to troubleshoot their animation export process. I've never been in touch with this editor/engine before. So I might have overlooked something. I would be happy if you could possibly let me know in that case.

I'll detail my complete process to easier see where things go wrong.

* load .fbx in Maya
* assign hero shader with proper texture
* delete 2D placement node
* launch HeroEngine Character Tools
* set path's (I've used the subst dos command to map a virtual drive, this is where I am pointing things)
* Rename top node of skeleton to Bip01
* Create SRB
* Choose static character
* Create character files
* Upload to the HE repository (under Character)
* Launch HeroBlade
* Open the Asset Library window
* Create new category for my character
* Add the .hgm item
* Add my asset to the world (I am using an empty test instance (but it has some kind of default character already loaded))

It's now the crash occurs when I try to load the animation set.
To start with the animation set roll out is empty.
I specify where the ANIMATIONSET.dat is supposed to be (the character's animation folder I suppose?)
I press Add sequence = crash.

I've tried not specifying where the ANIMATIONSET.dat is supposed to be.

I've also tried uploading the local copy of my ANIMATIONSET.dat (even thoug it's specified I only should do that if I know what I'm doing)

Nothing works. I only get crashes.

I would be most grateful if someone could point me to where things go wrong,
Mikael
« Last Edit: Oct 26, 12, 01:09:12 PM by HE-Cooper »
Logged

mikaelperssonse

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #1 on: Oct 31, 11, 10:56:48 AM »

I have now tried this on a polygon primitive with five bones. Still the same kind of crash. My process of creating and exporting is still like the one detailed above.
If anyone would have pointers, that would be fantastic!
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #2 on: Oct 31, 11, 10:59:39 AM »

Are you able to import a simple static model, without animations, correctly into the engine?
Logged

mikaelperssonse

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #3 on: Oct 31, 11, 11:04:05 AM »

Yes, the mesh displays fine in the editor viewport. (after adding it through the Library window)
Should I be doing anything with it in the Asset roll out before adding the animation set?
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #4 on: Oct 31, 11, 11:08:42 AM »

Well, then we know your paths are correct. I assume you are following this page by your repro steps:

http://hewiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Automating_Character_Creation_with_Character_Tools

Are there any steps in that process that aren't matching up to what you are seeing, (besides the gr2s now being hgms)? Are all the relevant animation files being created?
Logged

mikaelperssonse

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #5 on: Oct 31, 11, 11:20:51 AM »

I had missed that particular walkthrough, I followed something that looks to be for a previous version of the editor. But yes, that is basically what I am doing.

I am just creating a simpler character and am not pressing:
Get selected Mesh Part

These files are not showing up:
*.dyc
*.par
(which I assume is because it's a static character and has no extra mesh parts?)

My exported directory looks like this:
.\testPipe\testPipe.dat
.\testPipe\testPipe_Read_Me.txt
.\testPipe\testPipe_skeleton.hgm
.\testPipe\animation
   .\animation\ANIMATIONSET.dat
   .\animation\idle.asq
   .\animation\idle.hgm
   .\animation\testPipe.aas
.\maps
   .\maps\.mayaSwatches
   .\maps\test.dds
   .\maps\.mayaSwatches\test.dds.swatch
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #6 on: Oct 31, 11, 11:39:16 AM »

I've asked our Tech artist Bennett to check out what might be going wrong for you.
Logged

HE-BENNETT

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
    • View Profile
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #7 on: Oct 31, 11, 11:49:46 AM »

You are correct, only dynamic characters get the .dyc and .par files.

To recap the issue, you're experiencing a crash after adding a character through the asset library and attempting to load the animation set?

My initial thought is the issue comes from adding the character as an asset and not creating a character spec: http://wiki.heroengine.com/images/f/fb/Maya_Character_Tools_2010_Changes_-_Set_Up_Read_Me_Instructions.png

Have you followed those steps?
Logged

mikaelperssonse

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #8 on: Oct 31, 11, 11:51:02 AM »

I have tried both with and without the character spec code.
Logged

mikaelperssonse

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #9 on: Oct 31, 11, 12:19:22 PM »

Would it help if I provided the files I am trying to export/load? Can I give you any other kinds of information about my system to help you track down the issue?
Logged

HE-BENNETT

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
    • View Profile
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #10 on: Oct 31, 11, 12:41:27 PM »

Yes that would be helpful, if you could send them to support@heroengine.com, I will continue looking into the issue.

Logged

mikaelperssonse

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Animation set crash
« Reply #11 on: Oct 31, 11, 12:48:41 PM »

Thank you! Files on their way.
Logged