HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [CLOSED]Programmer volunteer looking for a formed team  (Read 4915 times)

AWW_boss

• General Accounts
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
[CLOSED]Programmer volunteer looking for a formed team
« on: Oct 30, 11, 03:46:48 AM »

Hi,

I would like to volunteer on a indie mmorpg project as programmer in my free time (well, unless i get paid enough so i can make a living :) ). I have a degree in electrical engineering and computing, and currently working for a large telecommunications corporation as a developer of ethernet/IP family of protocols. I have 10 years of coding expirience with various programming and scripting languages.
I have worked with jmonkey engine and unity 3D, but soon realized that game developing is not one man task, that is why i want to join a team.

I will now just throw couple of ideas on how would my vision of a perfect indie mmorpg look like. These are just to show how ingenious i am, not that i would enforce them on your project :D

persistent sandbox world
time based character development
player-driven economy

To satisfy players which complain about unbalanced <insert item, skill or something else> i would introduce
player-driven balancing, an automated system which would work on a premise that if something is used more frequently, then it's probably overpowered. This automated system would collect usage statistics and accordingly improve/nerf items/skills in very small steps on a daily basis.

To satisfy players which complain about pve being <insert boring, repetitive, hard, easy or something else> i would remove the line between pve and pvp, making classic pve obsolete. The biggest reason is that adding quality pve content in an indie mmo would be impossible (how to compete with SWTOR for example?). So goodbye combat AI.