HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Ocean Color  (Read 2429 times)

Hedron

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
    • Hedron Online
[Resolved] Ocean Color
« on: Apr 15, 12, 02:37:08 PM »

I am brand new to hero so please forgive me if this has been covered elsewhere.  I've searched and read through the wiki, searched the forum, and searched & watched youtube tutorial videos and can't find the answer to my question.

Is there a way to change the color of the ocean?  It defaults to a gaudy, tacky royal blue.  I need it to be light greenish blue for tropical islands.  I have played with the settings and I've tried using river and ripple and still can't get the color to change or the opacity to change.  Raven has water tutorials and I followed his exactly and still can't get the opacity to work.  How can you change the color and opacity of an ocean?
« Last Edit: Oct 31, 12, 03:47:06 PM by HE-Cooper »
Evil Bia Games
Hedron Online
www.hedrononline.com

HE-Cooper

• View Profile
Re: Ocean Color
« Reply #1 on: Apr 15, 12, 05:53:35 PM »

Open the properties window to change opacity and color settings. But the cube map for the water will also play a large role. The default cube map for ocean is low rez so that it can be used over vast areas, you can make it be whatever you'd like.

Hedron

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
    • Hedron Online
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 12, 10:09:52 PM »

I've tried playing with opacity.  On the ocean setting it has no affect at all.  Changing the diffuse color only changes the color of the wave ripples.  There is no cube map and when I try to use a cube map it only shows rainbow flashing colors.  I can't find any file that gives the default blue color.  How can we change this default blue color on the ocean setting?  We don't want to take a major hit in performance by using plain ripple or river for our oceans
Evil Bia Games
Hedron Online
www.hedrononline.com

HE-Cooper