HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.  (Read 2600 times)

ActualFantasy

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile

Hello there,

Everything in my world seems ok, i can place new assets, move them, terrain anything.
But as soon as i place a mirror/water, i logout, and the water resets to the default size.

What am i missing ?

Another thing i ran into, i created an elevator in 3ds Max.

Simple animation, up, down, wait 5 seconds, loop.

Now, the pole of the elevator i cannot run trough, however, the platform, i sink trough, so the elevator
isnt taking me upwards ;)

Sorry for the newbie questions.
« Last Edit: Oct 31, 12, 04:24:56 PM by HE-Cooper »
Logged

ActualFantasy

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #1 on: Dec 02, 11, 01:29:53 PM »

The Elevator is one object, very basic. A square pole in the middle, with a larger square "sliding" up and down along it.

I cannot run trough the pole, but i do fall trough the square platform.
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #2 on: Dec 02, 11, 02:08:05 PM »

If the elevator is simply animating via an animation, then most likely its physics isn't being adjusted. If you move the elevator via script then you'll be able to move it's physic's volume as well.

At least, I think that's what's happening to you.
Logged

ActualFantasy

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #3 on: Dec 02, 11, 02:50:21 PM »

If the elevator is simply animating via an animation, then most likely its physics isn't being adjusted. If you move the elevator via script then you'll be able to move it's physic's volume as well.

At least, I think that's what's happening to you.

I cant explain better without a picture. Behold my arrow drawing skills.



The red arrow object, i cannot move trough.

The funny thing is, if i turn on physics on the elevator, i can push it so it falls over on its side. Put i have to
push the red arrow object, the blue one still keeps passing trough me.

The blue arrow object goes up and down, and keeps passing trough me.

Its one object though, grouped up in 3ds max.
« Last Edit: Dec 02, 11, 02:52:01 PM by ActualFantasy »
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #4 on: Dec 02, 11, 03:28:27 PM »

Yup. You are animating the movement of the object. Animations don't inform the server of physics updates. You would need to script an interaction to move a specific object and update the server of it's position. Welcome to online game development. :-)
Logged

ShaolinNinja

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #5 on: Mar 06, 12, 01:37:09 PM »

How do you solve the water issue? I am having the same troubles. I even have a previously made water object that does not revert after logout, but all my new bodies of water revert.
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #6 on: Mar 06, 12, 01:39:25 PM »

It's always possible that we broke something, but I was placing water last night and didn't see this problem. What happens if you dupe the water you already have?
Logged

DarkOMEN

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #7 on: Mar 11, 12, 08:40:57 AM »

For the record, I was also having this water issue (water position/dimensions not persisting when I leave the edit instance).  The problem has subsequently resolved itself somewhere between now and the last version of HeroBlade.
Logged

Brian_SG

  • World Owner
  • ****
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 12, 02:03:10 PM »

I have that problem with water reverting back all the time.  Maybe 1 out of 4 times it will actually stay, so I just keep resizing it each day I work in the engine and it eventually stays.
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: What do i miss ? Water does not save anymore.
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 12, 03:22:45 PM »

There must be some step you are doing we don't expect. I'm building new example areas all the time and I've never seen it happen.

If you create a new water plane, will you document what you do, and then if the water reverts, send me the steps you did exactly when you setup the water and we'll try to figure it out.
Logged