HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Art importing/use issues  (Read 3334 times)

DarkOm3n

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Drive
[Resolved] Art importing/use issues
« on: Mar 05, 12, 09:55:40 AM »

I was giving the 2 artists on the team a hand importing in a couple models to check for scale etc. We were using static assets to start out lightly before moving on to more complex types like dynamic.(for our concept we could get away with just static)

Anyways, the model imports fine. The issue that seems to happen is the model starts flashing intermittently in certain positions, in other positions it disappears completely. In the clean test area it seems fine as long as you stay around the beginning area tents. I loaded a fresh area with a flat terrain to make sure it wasn't something like shadows. It happens worse in the new area. Has anyone encountered this or know what's causing it?

EDIT: I suppose I should mention with the flashing it becomes transparent in parts (tried taking a screenshot but those reflexes aren't in their 12 year old state). There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to where it flashes and what parts flash viewable and non.

Another thing, not really related to the first question, but better than another thread I suppose... Is there a way to stop animations in the aas or on key release? Atm i just have a static character with one animation, it starts game going forward and continues till I hit the backwards direction. Should say using mostly default systems. It should only be moving a short distance based on the animation.

Thanks for any insight :)
« Last Edit: Oct 26, 12, 01:14:10 PM by HE-Cooper »
Logged
If all else fails rm -rf /*

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Art importing/use issues
« Reply #1 on: Mar 05, 12, 10:54:51 AM »

Dark,

Make sure you read up on all the animation pages, character movement, behaviors, etc. But the easiest answer is character movement is controlled by animation translation distance.

The flashing you are describing sounds like the standard textures missing problem, but with mal formed UVs of texture layers, or something along those lines. Check the console for errors.
Logged

DarkOm3n

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Drive
Re: Art importing/use issues
« Reply #2 on: Mar 05, 12, 11:19:20 AM »

Hey Cooper, saving me again. I hope i don't make this a habit. ;)

Thank you for the animation answer. That being said I'm having a hard time describing my visual error.. dependant on the angle the model will disappear entirely or hmmm... semi translucent with a flashing/jittery look to it. almost as if it is not fully there but fading in and out on the planes of existence. Sorry about the horrible explanation... Flashing in and of of being fully viewable or partially there. No texture issues or checkerboard textures indicating repository/asset issues.
Logged
If all else fails rm -rf /*

HE-BENNETT

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
    • View Profile
Re: Art importing/use issues
« Reply #3 on: Mar 05, 12, 11:59:04 AM »

For the animation question, sounds like the issue is in your AAS setup.  If you're using the default character controller (if you're not sure the answer is probably yes) you should take a look at an example AAS to see how the basic movement is set up.  The Social Ref characters' AAS is relatively simple compared to those from HJRef.

When you see the whole body disappear, it might be a sign of the AAS trying to play an animation or sequence file that doesn't exist.  As Cooper said, check the console for errors :)
Logged

DarkOm3n

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Drive
Re: Art importing/use issues
« Reply #4 on: Mar 05, 12, 09:24:51 PM »

I managed to get the AAS figured out, thanks for the input guys.

As far as disappearing meshes it seems odd that there can/will be no animations trying to play as the character is idle... I can get it viewable and keep it at that camera orientation for hours and have no change, but the moment i change the camera angle it vanishes till i find a new on. I'm not a HE expert ofc but that just seems odd.
Logged
If all else fails rm -rf /*

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Art importing/use issues
« Reply #5 on: Mar 05, 12, 09:37:03 PM »

You either have the UVs setup incorrectly, or the animation is setup incorrectly and doing things like inverting UVs, or you are not naming materials uniquely in max, so the properties are being shared between more than one mesh.

These are common art errors in any engine. And you're sure there are no errors in the console? If there are no errors, then the only possible brokeness is your animation, and it's basically breaking your character so that the mesh renders in effectively a 2D plane.
Logged

DarkOm3n

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Drive
Re: Art importing/use issues
« Reply #6 on: Mar 05, 12, 10:12:32 PM »

Nothing that i would assume would cause this, although i could be wrong. I'm going to re-texture it and see if it makes any difference. Doesn't seem to happen till i put the animation in. if I leave it with nothing in one spot there are no issues.

Code: [Select]
20:43:08: HeStartup Call...
20:43:08: SYSTEM:System:Windows version: 6
20:43:08: SYSTEM:System:DEVICE: Using 24-Bit Depth Buffer.
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Game Scale set to: 10.00
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Initializing HeroBlade DLL
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:SelectionManager::Startup()
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:GUIControl::SetupScreen()
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:AudioManager()
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Audio plugin [FMOD] initialized successfully
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Physics Setup
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:DebugVisualizer Setup
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Shadow Setup
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Device DOES support D24S8 shadow mapping.
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Device: DOES support shadow volumes.
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Device: DOES support static shadow volumes.
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Device: DOES support rigid GPU shadow volumes.
20:43:09: SYSTEM:System:Device: DOES support deformable GPU shadow volumes.
20:43:09: System:HeroEngine Client DLL told version is: 1.69.205.38547
20:43:12: SYSTEM:System:BaseApplication::initialize Service_Directory_Client 1331005390563 8
20:43:13: SYSTEM:System:BaseApplication::initialize Service_Directory_Client 1331005392133 8
20:43:16: SYSTEM:System:LR:setDefaultCacheSize
20:43:16: SYSTEM:System:LR:setDefaultCacheSize done
20:43:16: DreamManager connected
20:43:27: System:SCRIPT[_InputHandlerClassMethods]:_OnKeyBindingsLoaded: , /heroenginekeybindings.ini
20:43:27: System:SCRIPT[_InputHandlerClassMethods]:_OnKeyBindingsLoaded: , /gamekeybindings.ini
20:43:43: SYSTEM:System:  Activating Segment: demoland
20:43:43: SYSTEM:System:Reset the synchronized clock.
20:43:43: SYSTEM:System:ActivateAreaSpec 3758002374 assigning ID 1 instance 1
20:43:43: System:SetSkyDomeAsset 0 into Auto in Character Selection
20:43:43: SYSTEM:System:Just received an area.dat file '\world\livecontent\systemgenerated\3758002374\AREA.DAT'
20:43:43: SYSTEM:System:Character Selection (3758002374) activate
20:43:45: System:SCRIPT[_characterSelectionClassMethods]:Got updated names...
20:43:49: SYSTEM:System:SUA purging active area
20:43:49: SYSTEM:System:Character Selection (3758002374) PURGE
20:43:49: SYSTEM:System:Purging EnviroSchemes
20:43:49: SYSTEM:System:Released area 1
20:43:50: SYSTEM:System:LR:setDefaultCacheSize
20:43:50: SYSTEM:System:LR:setDefaultCacheSize done
20:43:51: SYSTEM:System:Reset the synchronized clock.
20:43:51: SYSTEM:System:ActivateAreaSpec 9223372055609790087 assigning ID 9223372055609790087 instance 1
20:43:51: System:SetSkyDomeAsset 0 into Auto in Fantasy Lowlands
20:43:51: SYSTEM:System:Just received an area.dat file '\world\areas\9223372055609790087\AREA.DAT'
20:43:53: SYSTEM:System:Fantasy Lowlands (9223372055609790087) activate
20:43:54: SYSTEM:System:Server command: create room [testareadrive]
20:43:56: System:SCRIPT[E_ExperienceBarClassMethods]:xp: 0
20:43:56: System:SCRIPT[E_ExperienceBarClassMethods]:last: 0
20:44:26: System:SCRIPT[E_ACCControllerClassMethods]:E_ACCControllerClassMethods line 984 (_onPostAnimUpdate) has determined I should be falling
20:44:28: !ERROR!System:Input [BasePosture] does not have enum handle [Alive]!
20:44:28: !ERROR!System:BehaviorBase: Attempt to set input [BasePosture] to [Alive] failed, enum not valid for this input (node=9223372055899009509).
Logged
If all else fails rm -rf /*

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Art importing/use issues
« Reply #7 on: Mar 05, 12, 10:29:12 PM »

Well, these are types of animation errors;

20:44:28: !ERROR!System:Input [BasePosture] does not have enum handle [Alive]!
20:44:28: !ERROR!System:BehaviorBase: Attempt to set input [BasePosture] to [Alive] failed, enum not valid for this input (node=9223372055899009509).

So, I would solve those first.
Logged