HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: CloudHero game engine questions (and I already pestered Cooper so... )  (Read 2073 times)

PamelaTerraX

• General Accounts
    • View Profile

Hello all - I'm here with some general questions about the cloud version of the Hero engine.  We've been checking out game engines ranging from open source to ohmygawditcostshowmuchtolicense?

I'll start by saying I'm not a game engineer. I'm the project lead on this game build as well as one of the original game designers, the surprisingly effective lead funding generator, and The Person Who Spent 2 Frikken Years Defining The Internal Physics Of The Game Via Math & Data. 

Right now our gaze is on CloudHero just because it's affordable in the short and long run.  Servers are costly - buying or leasing them, running them - add in the subscription process and 30% net starts to fit into the budget.

However - we've got concerns.  What happens if there are issues with the Hero servers, the service provided to our players via the servers, the billing process?  We've put in 2.5 years into this already and are looking at at least another 3 years - how secure is our data on servers that we don't control?   

What are the unforeseen limits to a game built in CloudHero that we're not aware of but you are quite clear on?  How much flexibility will we have with our game design and how much of a hassle will it be to work in heroscript?

So here I am, asking for your opinions. What are your thoughts about this engine? 

Thanks all-

Pamela

Pamela Zero
TerraXmmo.com

JoshHalls

• Founding Professional
    • View Profile
    • The Repopulation