HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] DDS upload  (Read 2803 times)

Alderdale

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
[Resolved] DDS upload
« on: May 08, 12, 11:27:04 PM »

Im trying something that seems very basic but has me stumped.  I am simply trying to upload one DDS file texture not associated with any models or any meshes using the repository.  I want to use this file as terrain so I was careful to note the path the hero engine was using to display sample textures under TERRAIN / PAINT TEXTURE / CHANGE which in my case was /World/LiveContent/TerrainMaps/Generic/Dirt_Mud/dirt_grass01_d.dds.

I loaded the repository and browsed to the above path.  The first thing I noticed that was odd was that there are 15 texures showing up in the repository at this path but only 9 showing up in HeroBlade at the same path.  Just the same I dropped my DDS file into the folder in the repository and it upload.

The problem is I cannot find my file when I browse for it in HeroBlade.  As a matter of fact the only file structure visible in HeroBlade under the change texture button is GENERIC and under that -Bark -Dirt_Mud -Grass_Moss -Gravel_Stone -Leaves_Vines -Paths_Roads

I was watching a Youtube video by Raven and he pretty much did the same thing grabbing a DDS file from his desktop and dropping it in a folder in the repository (a different one than I did) and it showed up for him in HeroBlade.  One thing I noticed about his HeroBlade version that I didnt have is when he hit the change terrain button he had an additional option called "use hero engine path" which gave him more selections to choose fun.  I dont have this option.  Here is the link to the youtube video.  Thanks for any help I can get.

Hero Engine Tutorial #2 - Importing a Terrain Texture Into Hero Engine
« Last Edit: Sep 26, 12, 08:27:07 AM by HE-Cooper »
Logged

FI-ScottZ

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 1407
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: DDS upload
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 12, 11:42:15 PM »

Did you have _d or _n at the end of the name?  Those suffixes are necessary for files to be recognized as being valid for use with the terrain, d for diffuse and n for normal map.

http://wiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Terrain#Heightmap_textures
Logged
Scott Zarnke
Lead Programmer, Visions of Zosimos
CTO, Forever Interactive, Inc.

Alderdale

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: DDS upload
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 12, 12:13:21 AM »

Did you have _d or _n at the end of the name?  Those suffixes are necessary for files to be recognized as being valid for use with the terrain, d for diffuse and n for normal map.

http://wiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Terrain#Heightmap_textures

Thats it problem solved, the way the tutorial went is seemed like an optional preference not something required, thank you so much.
Logged

OmegaV

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • GamerzDEN
Re: DDS upload
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 12, 02:43:15 PM »

Yes, although the tut's are very informative, they lack thorough explanation on certain topics. This is something that should be addressed by the people making the Tut's
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: DDS upload
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 12, 03:24:32 PM »

Always start with the wiki! All the info is in there. Though I think that tutorial by Raven does show the file extensions. But all of the sections about terrain in the wiki scream it from the rooftops. :-)
Logged

Reniezs

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Lusorion Creatives
Re: DDS upload
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 12, 01:28:08 AM »

This tutorial is verry buetifull and helping mi with understand this terrain texturred.
Logged
Developer studio Lusorion Creatives - http://lusorion.com
CS / SK Hero Engine Community - http://heroengine.cz