HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] .aas Template  (Read 4392 times)

TReiter

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
[Resolved] .aas Template
« on: Jul 11, 12, 07:16:59 PM »

Hello

We have been working on adding a static character to HE which we got it added to the project. But we ran it to some issue with .aas we are trying to learn about editing the file. I was wondering maybe someone might a basic template of the .aas file
that has some basic animations  for example idle, walk, run and so on so we can a better idea of how its coded.


Thanks for your time.
« Last Edit: Sep 26, 12, 08:43:31 AM by HE-Cooper »
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #1 on: Jul 11, 12, 07:19:53 PM »

I would start with the ones being used by your default characters in your template worlds.
Logged

TReiter

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #2 on: Jul 11, 12, 07:27:50 PM »

You mean the monkeytok character?
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #3 on: Jul 11, 12, 07:36:51 PM »

I would use the ones being used by the player characters in character/ ... Human male, or whatever the folder structure is in the cloud.
Logged

TReiter

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #4 on: Jul 13, 12, 06:35:04 AM »

Is there anyway to view the .aas files from inside blade?
Logged

PN-Dwight

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • Pirates' Nest
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #5 on: Jul 13, 12, 08:38:31 AM »

HeroBlade does not come with a standard text editor :P

Save it to your desktop and open it from there, apply changes, and drop it back into the Repo :)

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #6 on: Jul 13, 12, 10:56:21 AM »

yeah, I would just set aas and asq and dat and par to all open with notebook. That way you can just click em whenever you see em and check what's in them. I'd also set hgm to open with the HeroViewer.exe, so you can always inspect those on the fly.
Logged

FI-ScottZ

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 1407
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #7 on: Jul 13, 12, 12:39:10 PM »

For what it's worth, I use Notepad++ for aas scripts, as it provides nice editing features including color coding.  I haven't bothered trying to create an xml for aas as a custom language, but I find that displaying it as C# looks pretty good.

If you try it out, two things help for setting it up:
  • Associating aas files with Notepad++ (Settings->Preferences, File Association tab, as pictured)
  • Setting it to always open them as C# (Settings->Style Configurator, as pictured)

You can, of course, try out any other languages; this is just what works well for us.
Logged
Scott Zarnke
Lead Programmer, Visions of Zosimos
CTO, Forever Interactive, Inc.

DragonFist

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #8 on: Jul 13, 12, 01:01:20 PM »

+1 Notepad++

powerful, small footprint tool.

I'd love to have it replace notepad.
Logged

TReiter

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #9 on: Jul 13, 12, 05:03:12 PM »

Hey guys thanx for the help and info.
Logged

HE-BENNETT

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
    • View Profile
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #10 on: Jul 16, 12, 07:58:58 AM »

True story, I edit the text files for all the templates and sample assets we furnish for you fine folks in Notepad++ ;)
Logged

ronalmb

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • ThinkPlay Studios
Re: .aas Template
« Reply #11 on: Jul 16, 12, 09:05:58 AM »

Notepad++ is an excellent tool
Logged