HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Hex grid  (Read 1055 times)

angelsin

• World Owners
    • View Profile
[Resolved] Hex grid
« on: Jul 22, 12, 09:38:45 PM »

So I am new to this, and I was wondering if there is a way to setup an invisible grid system, for things like attack area and range, and if this is possible, if it could be changed from a square grid into a hex grid or if that would likely be too much trouble? I have been planning on working on trying to figure it out but thought I would ask first to see if someone else knew of a simple way or if others had tried and found it to not be worth it.
Thanks in advance
-sin
« Last Edit: Nov 01, 12, 03:00:24 PM by HE-Cooper »

FI-ScottZ

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: Hex grid
« Reply #1 on: Jul 22, 12, 10:23:56 PM »

Are you planning on having these hexes be discrete positions where the units can be (digital), or can they move freely to any point on the map (analog)?

We are using a hex grid and it was quite a bit of work to get going, but with satisfying results.  We use discrete positions.  The key aspects were getting the grid laid out programmatically, and creating a path finding system which plans along the hexes.
« Last Edit: Jul 22, 12, 10:30:51 PM by ScottZarnke »
Scott Zarnke
Lead Programmer, Visions of Zosimos
CTO, Forever Interactive, Inc.

angelsin

• World Owners
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Jul 22, 12, 10:56:00 PM »