HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Need help with Colored Text, and IF statements please.  (Read 857 times)

AdvenCast

• World Owners
    • View Profile

I am new to scripting, and I am trying to change the color of a message. This is the script i got:

function HelloWorld()
SendChat ("I like to eat Pine apple and bacon pizza!,", "game" )

I am trying to make the text black. I'm figuring its gonna be something with this script: $$COLORS #0,0,0,1.

I was guessing something like this:
function HelloWorld()
SendChat ("I like to eat Pine apple and bacon pizza!,", "game", $$COLORS #0,0,0,1)

I am most likely no where close. Please help me.

And about if statements. I know Action Script 2.0, and I was hoping the if statement usage was sort of like as2. But I can see its not. This is my guessing, how far off am I?

function HelloWorld()
if var textboxx == true
SendChat ("I like to eat Pine apple and bacon pizza!,", "game")
« Last Edit: Sep 26, 12, 09:43:20 AM by HE-Cooper »

FI-ScottZ

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: Need help with Colored Text, and IF statements please.
« Reply #1 on: Sep 13, 12, 09:18:50 PM »

See GUI Label Markup for details of how to format text within a string.

Also, to reference a system node, use only one $, as in $COLORS.  If you don't want to set colors by their 4 numbers like shown on that wiki page, but instead by the name of a color, $COLORS has methods _GetForegroundMarkup and _GetBackgroundMarkup for getting the opening markup text which is mapped to a name. 
Those methods return the opening tag, but you still must add a closing tag to indicate where the coloring ends.  The closing tag is {/}

e.g. black text with red background:

Code: (hsl) [Select]
text = $COLORS._GetBackgroundMarkup("red")+$COLORS._GetForegroundMarkup("black")+"some text{/}{/}"
notice it needs two closing tags because of the two openers.