HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: Example of game systems design  (Read 2714 times)

Trixer

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
Example of game systems design
« on: Sep 20, 12, 09:34:46 AM »

Hey guys,

So I have been part of more indie game dev teams then I can shake a stick at... and all of them have had great ideas (why else would I be there?) but none of them knew how to take it down on paper, or at least make it tangible.

It ends up being really annoying because the designer only takes down stuff as its needed... giving the illusion that he is just kind of creating it as we go... THIS IS REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY BAD... DO NOT CREATE AS YOU GO OR YOU WILL NEVER STOP GOING... BACKWARDS!

Anyway, I have been working on my own design lately, just playing around. I am a lead programmer and TECHNICAL designer for the company I work at, technical design is something games lack as well but Ill post an example of that when the time comes and I start doing mine.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xpco6tedvmb41ot/FmQeVKTv6d

These are some basic flow charts that, take down basic stuff about the game. The colors of the squares don't currently mean anything, but generally you would set them so that they either matched a corresponding game system, or they denoted some kind of data type (like this is a list, or this is a class...)

All in all I have maybe 45 minutes into all of them... Its really basic stuff and nothing I am doing here is magic... but it has already helped snag two artists... 45 mins worth of work for two really good artists? YES PLEASE!