HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Seamless world  (Read 2006 times)

Cruscin96

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
[Resolved] Seamless world
« on: May 08, 11, 09:54:41 PM »

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to Heroengine and I am trying to figure out how to make a seamless world. There is a post already but I have no idea what they are talking about. Does anyone have a step by step tutorial on how to make a seamless world? Thanks.
« Last Edit: Oct 31, 12, 04:04:44 PM by HE-Cooper »
Logged

FI-ScottZ

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 1407
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: Seamless world
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 11, 11:14:13 PM »

I don't know if it is so much of a tutorial, but this wiki page is a good place to start.
Logged
Scott Zarnke
Lead Programmer, Visions of Zosimos
CTO, Forever Interactive, Inc.

sbradshaw

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Seamless world
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 11, 02:33:42 PM »

that page is perfect.  we used the v1.0 for like 3 hours till we noticed a v2.0 was out...so much easier...but i think the 1.0 would be better for dungeons and inside most big buildings.
Logged

Cruscin96

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Seamless world
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 11, 09:43:36 PM »

Thanks for the help guys. I think you saved me a bunch of time haha.
Logged

sbradshaw

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Seamless world
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 11, 03:58:21 AM »

bookmark the wiki...its hasnt failed yet.  Kudo thnx team for making the wiki =)
Logged

JoshHalls

  • Founding Professional
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
    • View Profile
    • The Repopulation
Re: Seamless world
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 11, 01:24:48 PM »

We just got done creating a series of scripts that will take a 2km heightmap and split it into 16 500m zones and then do all of the hard work of creating the links and shifting the terrain over to the appropriate zone.  Probably will release it here soon as it looks to be working properly, but wanted to test a few things.  Took a very tedious process and turned it into a 15 minute adventure.
Logged
Co-Owner/Programmer - The Repopulation

Corpsejacked

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Seamless world
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 11, 06:34:40 PM »

Hahahaa... and to think I am on my last 20 areas of 400. Oh well hope you guys get it working nicely.
« Last Edit: May 27, 11, 08:10:49 PM by Corpsejacked »
Logged

Taschenmogul

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Seamless world
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 11, 03:50:17 PM »

@joshhalls: Would get you a lot of karma if you released that script to the community. ;-)
Logged

JoshHalls

  • Founding Professional
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
    • View Profile
    • The Repopulation
Re: Seamless world
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 11, 04:17:56 PM »

I might need to do some more testing, I had James try it and it wasn't working properly.   Will probably have to see about trying it on a clean world.  We also had some issues it seems with building navmesh for 16 zones, still working that out as well as to what the best process is there.
Logged
Co-Owner/Programmer - The Repopulation