HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Floating NPCs  (Read 8541 times)

OurLord

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #15 on: Feb 02, 13, 06:21:10 AM »


A side effect of the fix supplied is that every time the code is executed I get a "Should be falling" message in the console, and the NPC falls to the ground and has to get up again.
Logged

OurLord

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #16 on: Feb 21, 13, 10:05:17 AM »


Some more floating NPCS.

We have removed the suggested fix as it was causing more problems than it solved.

I have written a function that will spawn a number of NPCs. To place them I first find the maximum extents of the current area using the fields BBCorner1 and BBCorner2. I then find a random value between the Min and Max X and Z values to ensure that they will not appear off in space. I set the Y value to just above the Max y.

This works for most created NPCS but I am also seeing some floating off to the side of the area, please see attached screen grab.

The area in question reports the following dimensions:-

BBCorner1: (-3.22658, -0.309281, -3.46542) BBCorner2: (3.44081, 1.36928, 3)

If I select the floating NPC and record their current position running from left to right I get:-

1) (3.072705, 1.569281, -2.041687)
2) (3.269971, 1.569281, -1.010547)
3) (3.411568, 1.569281, 0.2008167)
4) (3.253582, 1.569281, -0.09645921)
5) (3.115199, 1.569281, -0.1992974)
6) (3.03191, 1.569281, 0.4917333)

All of the reported X and Z positions are within the Area Min and Max, yet they are still floating off to one side of the area.

Hope this helps you with tracking down this fault.

Thanks

Richard
Logged

OurLord

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #17 on: Apr 20, 13, 06:25:35 AM »

Whilst testing replication between two clients I noticed the attached Screen grabs on initial login

Client 1 has one NPC floating with one on the ground.
Client 2 sees the reverse.

Logged

HistoriaOnline

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
  • Aspiring MMO Creator
    • View Profile
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #18 on: Sep 09, 13, 03:02:56 PM »

Hello, I'm new to hero engine, about 4 days in, I created a simple map already, and made some instances of monkey NPC, in the past two days, those moneys started floating -_- and whenever i pass them with camera i just get stuck.

I tried deleting them from assets, but they are still there, even though i can not find them in assets, also i tried using the clear instanced assets option, and it didnt help either.

Any suggestions?
Logged

keeperofstars

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 998
    • View Profile
    • StarKeeper Online
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #19 on: Sep 09, 13, 08:06:50 PM »

characters work a bit differently than a standard asset, need to right click them and delete npc. or use the slash commands to do it.

Reason is the npcs while assets also start up AI processes, build paths for them to follow and more, aka there is more than just the asset created, so need to use the delete from the right click menu, or the command to properly remove them.
Logged
[img]http://screencast.com/t/x7btcSSyp3h0[\img]

HistoriaOnline

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
  • Aspiring MMO Creator
    • View Profile
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #20 on: Sep 10, 13, 01:53:36 AM »

I was wondering if you can link me to the wiki about these commands?
Ill try to find it myself in the meantime, I don't get an option of deletion from right clicking it.
Logged

keeperofstars

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 998
    • View Profile
    • StarKeeper Online
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #21 on: Sep 10, 13, 08:07:45 AM »

I'll have to look them up when I get home, but make sure you are in game mode when right clicking on them.
Logged
[img]http://screencast.com/t/x7btcSSyp3h0[\img]

HistoriaOnline

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
  • Aspiring MMO Creator
    • View Profile
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #22 on: Sep 10, 13, 09:27:02 AM »

Problem is they seem to disappeared in game mode, if i change their placing, they just turn back to being around 20 feet above the ground, same place, 2 of them together, I only learned how to do hello world in commands so far.
Don't really know how to call a method that will delete a certain char with certain ID from map.

Also, if I might add, passing them (above or under) while in any editing mode will make my camera stuck, as if i hit a solid object and i can no longer move the camera, maybe i'm hitting their path?

I'm just trying to ignore the two flying monkeys for now and editing things around them, hopefully until my coding abilities are better so i can invoke a delete method for them.

Either way, still don;t understand how it happened.
Logged

WorldWideZ

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
Re: Floating NPCs
« Reply #23 on: Sep 10, 13, 10:23:06 AM »

use /HENPC in the chat window , it will list its options , delete is one of them
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]