HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: Diffuse and normal Alpha modes  (Read 3939 times)

Prometheus2012

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
    • Exile-Online
Diffuse and normal Alpha modes
« on: Mar 28, 13, 01:35:01 PM »

Yo, so now i know that our textures need to have any glow or specular placed into the alpha channel of the diffuse/normal, does anyone have a tip for doing this quickly with either photoshop or paint.net.

Im a total noob at this, and we need to do this with a hundred or so textures. Id rather do this task myself than ask one of my artists to do it.

HE-BENNETT

• HeroEngine
    • View Profile
Re: Diffuse and normal Alpha modes
« Reply #1 on: Mar 28, 13, 01:56:14 PM »

Well if the specular map is already created it's extremely straightforward to add it into the alpha channel... and glow maps are really pretty much the same.  One of your artists should be able to show you how.

But if you mean tips for creating the specular map?  That's really an artist job and they can probably do it much faster than you, since you say you're new to it.

Prometheus2012

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
    • Exile-Online
« Reply #2 on: Mar 28, 13, 03:06:01 PM »

We have the specular and glow maps already made, but they arent in the alpha channel. Any tips for doing this? Thankee in advance

Chromehound

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Mar 28, 13, 03:37:00 PM »

Using Gimp or Photoshop or another?

Usually as easy as copy/pasting in the right spot - a quick search on specular in alpha channel and the program name you're using will probably net you some nice tutorials.

Could also use layer mask as described here: http://www.gimptalk.com/index.php?showtopic=12140

Prometheus2012

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
    • Exile-Online
« Reply #4 on: Mar 28, 13, 04:32:48 PM »