HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Adding new GUI Panel  (Read 1608 times)

GameMMO

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
[Resolved] Adding new GUI Panel
« on: Mar 24, 13, 01:18:11 PM »

Hi! I want in the wiki for a tutorial to make a new GUI panel, but i can not found, I understand now how can I make a GUI Window and invoke with call, but I want the panel show when I enter in the area, for example, the panel to create a new char, or a second skill bar, etc...

Someone can say me the link to this? TY!!
« Last Edit: Mar 26, 13, 02:26:45 AM by GameMMO »
Logged

FI-ScottZ

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 1407
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: Adding new GUI Panel
« Reply #1 on: Mar 24, 13, 01:53:08 PM »

When you say "make a new GUI panel" do you mean:
show a new panel while playing the game?
or
design a new panel via the GUI editor?
Logged
Scott Zarnke
Lead Programmer, Visions of Zosimos
CTO, Forever Interactive, Inc.

GameMMO

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Adding new GUI Panel
« Reply #2 on: Mar 24, 13, 02:05:32 PM »

I refer to a panel that is always present while playing or show when I enter in specific area, like choose character panel.

Thanks.
Logged

FI-ScottZ

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 1407
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: Adding new GUI Panel
« Reply #3 on: Mar 24, 13, 02:10:42 PM »

I think any gui control that is shown will continue to show until it is destroyed (or otherwise hidden).  That is even if the client changes area.

For one that shows based on the area you enter like the character selection, take a look at how the character selection is shown.  I forget exactly when it is called, but in the CSS gui class script there is a public function called Open.  If you trace back from there, you could see how they know when to call that based on entering an area.
Logged
Scott Zarnke
Lead Programmer, Visions of Zosimos
CTO, Forever Interactive, Inc.

Thazager

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 1155
  • Never stop learning
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains MMORPG
Re: Adding new GUI Panel
« Reply #4 on: Mar 24, 13, 03:55:37 PM »

A gui panel can be added and shown using a few statements. Take a look in E_PlayerAcountClassMethods, where they load and display some of the other guis, like the exp bar, the status bar, and the abilitybar. They can be defined and shaped in the GUI editor, then created during code time. If you want them to have a function like interacting with mouse events, they will also need to be created in the DOM as a class.
Logged

GameMMO

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Adding new GUI Panel
« Reply #5 on: Mar 24, 13, 03:57:36 PM »

Maybe I need add new Clent DOM and set archetype guicontrol and parent class _GUIBaseWindow?

I see this in tis tuto https://community.heroengine.com/forums/index.php/topic,1716.0.html


Thank You!
Logged