HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Click To Move  (Read 1254 times)

1d20Interactive

• World Owners
    • View Profile
[Resolved] Click To Move
« on: Apr 04, 13, 01:47:27 AM »

Sorry, I'm sure this must have been asked before, but I couldn't find anything in the FAQs or search. I'm also very new to Hero Engine.

I want to do a game with an RTS-like movement system -- a fixed overhead camera where movement of a unit is accomplished by clicking on the terrain to order the unit to a specific location.

First step would be handling the mouse input:

I see there are some ray-casting external functions, but I'm not clear on how I should use them. What is the correct way to translate a mouse click on the screen to the specific co-ordinate on the heightmap node that is under the mouse?

Second step would be having a pathfinding system programatically move an entity towards the desired location by navigating along a computed path (avoiding obstacles, etc):

What systems should I use to make this happen? Is this something that ACCC should be used for?

Any help is much appreciated.

« Last Edit: Apr 22, 13, 05:02:56 PM by HE-Cooper »

lyncthra

• World Owners
    • View Profile
Re: Click To Move
« Reply #1 on: Apr 05, 13, 02:10:22 PM »

Hey, I'm working on a 3rd person click-to-move (like in Dragon Age... you click the ground to move there.) I have no idea if I'm on the right path, or that our paths should be the same, but I'll share with you where I am and hopefully we can help each other or someone will help us both.

So far, in the client script "Input_Mouse," I've got:

Code: [Select]
function OnMouseClick(lmb as Boolean, rmb as Boolean, mmb as Boolean, mb4 as Boolean, mb5 as Boolean) as Boolean
  // I need to add an If statement here. If lmb is true, it's a left click. If rmb is true, it's a right-click, etc
  $INPUT.InputDoMouseClick(GetNodeUnderMouse(), lmb, rmb, mmb, mb4, mb5)