HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: Fmod issues  (Read 2211 times)

WorldWideZ

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
Fmod issues
« on: May 01, 13, 12:46:44 AM »

hey dudes - so having followed the fmod audio tools webpage on the hero wiki , and many of their video tutorials, im still at a loss as to why my sound wont work in the engine. has anyone found any idiosyncrasies to getting the fmod fx device to play the sound?  i dont have any errors showing up , but i am also really unsure of fmod settings and what they mean for hero.
Logged

Thazager

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 1160
  • Never stop learning
    • View Profile
Re: Fmod issues
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 13, 01:31:42 AM »

I have looked at that a few times, have made a sound, but was not successful in getting the sound into the engine. I have put it in several different places, and none seem to work. I have used one of the current FX sounds already in the engine and just linked to it for a sound in game, but nothing as far as getting our sounds to play.

I even looked at some of the HJref sounds function, tried using them with links to the sounds I found in the worldcontent. Nothing played.
Logged
Lead scripter for EO, Repop helper.
HSL Video tutorials:
https://community.heroengine.com/forums/index.php/topic,1719.msg36858.html#msg3685

WorldWideZ

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
Re: Fmod issues
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 13, 01:47:32 AM »

that makes me feel less sketchy! i know at least a few people have gotten it to work in the past though hopefully they will impart their knowledge onto us
Logged

WorldWideZ

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
Re: Fmod issues
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 13, 03:35:47 AM »

also like to add this http://wiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Audio_tutorial is unworking too the example/laser sound also cannot be heard

however after messing around with doing this when i preview my effect the FMOD icon now appears over my character? i guess this means its trying to play
« Last Edit: May 01, 13, 03:40:34 AM by WorldWideZ »
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Fmod issues
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 13, 09:13:55 PM »

I have a really straightforward step by step on the FMOD wiki page. Have you followed those steps? It's actually 1 step easier now since the events are automatically parsed and into the property panel.
Logged

WorldWideZ

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
Re: Fmod issues
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 13, 12:49:40 AM »

yep followed all the wiki links going

http://wiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Audio_tutorial
http://hewiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Audio_tools

both give the same instructions on how to drop a sound asset into the game , and the first link makes reference to a clean engine audio tutorial .fev file , that also made no actual sounds (the example/laser sound)

after loading into the fps ref to double check the sounds settings there , on returning all sounds now work in in my world. doesnot seem to be any difference in settings though?
« Last Edit: May 02, 13, 01:31:44 AM by WorldWideZ »
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Fmod issues
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 13, 10:40:58 AM »

Everything looks good to me.

I click create > audio > load...
select the audio tutorial fev
click create > audio > select audio tutorial fev
FMOD box appears on my character's head
in the properties panel set the event to example/laser
laser sound fires off

There's always a possibility that a sound driver installation is causing the issue. We've also seen issues with integrated chipsets supporting for audio on some folks machines.
Logged