HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Maya ArtPipeline Installer???  (Read 2470 times)

DWS_Marcos

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
[Resolved] Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« on: Jun 13, 13, 03:51:42 AM »

Hello HeroDevelopers! I was wondering if there is a Maya ArtPipeline Installer in development. ima maya user and I would really love it. I cant really get the art pipeline to work after 2 weeks of trying. please some one help me  with this.  :'(
« Last Edit: Jul 03, 13, 04:36:14 PM by HE-Cooper »
Logged

PN-Dwight

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • Pirates' Nest
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #1 on: Jun 13, 13, 05:09:58 AM »

What is your issue with the art pipeline for Maya?

Cannot load certain things?

HE-BENNETT

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
    • View Profile
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #2 on: Jun 13, 13, 01:24:42 PM »

We are not currently developing a Maya pipeline installer for a myriad of reasons, mainly due to bigger and better things on the horizon which have a much higher priority.

But in the mean time I'm sure we can get you up and running!  As Dwight said, what's the issue?  What are you able to do and where does the process fail?
Logged

DWS_Marcos

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #3 on: Jun 14, 13, 07:31:30 PM »

my hero tool shelf does not seem to find the procedures for the tools, therefore they cannot work.  I cant add a hero shader, I cannot export my assests, none of the tools seem to find the procedure for it.

PN-Dwight

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • Pirates' Nest
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #4 on: Jun 15, 13, 03:07:00 AM »

So Maya cannot load external files (In the hope that you did everything correctly with the initial setup... set all paths, etc?).

Could it be administrative issues?

DWS_Marcos

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #5 on: Jun 15, 13, 06:15:17 PM »

I'm not really sure. can I ask for the favor of having a Skype chat with one of you guys while I share my screen? it would be very helpful.

HE-BENNETT

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
    • View Profile
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #6 on: Jun 17, 13, 10:07:20 AM »

That sounds like a path is incorrect somewhere.  Can you copy and paste the location of your art pipeline install and the contents of your Maya.env file? 

Also, have you changed the extension of either "userSetup.x64" (for 64bit maya) or "userSetup.x86" (for 32bit maya) to "userSetup.mel"?  If you have extensions turned off it's possible that there is a hidden extension to the userSetup file. 
Logged

AlmightyGir

  • Developers
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #7 on: Jun 17, 13, 11:37:24 AM »

part of the problem could be that the current artdepot installer doesn't lay out files in the same way that the maya files expect. the maya files expect the following path:

C:\HeroEngine\ArtDepot\HeroEngineArtPipeline\MELScripts\Maya20xx.0\


but the ACTUAL path is:

C:\HeroEngine\ArtPipeline\MELScripts\Maya20xx.0\
Logged

HE-BENNETT

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
    • View Profile
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #8 on: Jun 17, 13, 01:04:18 PM »

Hmmm, well that sounds like an issue, yes.  The installer should place the pipeline at: C:\HeroEngine\ArtDepot\HeroEngineArtPipeline\...

I'll have to look into that for the next release, thanks :)

Logged

DWS_Marcos

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #9 on: Jun 18, 13, 06:55:11 PM »

my maya.env file is exactly the same way the video from the wiki explained it. I only have one usersetup.mel and its the one that comes with the hero engine art pipeline (maya.x64) I'm using 2013. 

I'm not really sure what can possibly be wrong here.

AlmightyGir

  • Developers
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Maya ArtPipeline Installer???
« Reply #10 on: Jun 19, 13, 09:34:18 AM »

post the contents of your maya.env file, and a screenshot of your artpipeline folder. will see if there's anything missing =]
Logged