HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Character Movement Not Working Properly....  (Read 3765 times)

shockdot

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
[Resolved] Character Movement Not Working Properly....
« on: Jun 23, 13, 02:20:15 PM »

I'm having issues with Character movement.

I understand it's based off of the SRB. I moved the SRB forward on the Y-Axis in my animation.

So basically, at the start of my animation in 3dsmax, key 0 has the Y Position of the SRB set to 0, by frame 33(the end of my run animation) the SRB is at Y position -1.113m.

When I export the animation and upload to the repository for testing the character does move, but it does not move until the full animation is completed....

I'm uploading a video and will edit this post with it's URL so you can see what I mean.

Here are all my scripts related to the Run Animation.

ANIMATIONSET.dat
Code: [Select]
!
!
Version=1
[SEQUENCES]
  idle
  Jump
  Run
  Walk

BasicHM.aas
Code: [Select]
! biped control
!
!this is a super basic template to start with
!add more stuff and make it do something neat!!


channels
{
  AnimAllBody
}

inputs
{
  animation = Idle
 
  // Basic inputs used by the HeroEngine_ACCController
  BaseMode = Normal, Combat
  BasePosture = Idle, Turning, Moving, Prone, Dead, Sitting, Kneeling, Alive, Climbing
  OverridePosture = None, Jumping, Landing, Falling, Dead, Knockback, ResurrectTarget
  MoveType = Normal, Swim
  IdleType = Normal
  MoveDirection = Forward, Backward
  TurnDirection = None, Right, Left
  TurnAmount = None, T45Degrees, T90Degrees, T135Degrees, T180Degrees
  variable AlreadyTurning =  true, false
  variable CurrentMotion = Idle, TurningLeft, TurningRight, Forward, Backingup, CombatMove
}

transition OverridePosture
{
from None to Jumping = DoJump
}

action DoJump
{
anim "Jump"
blend 1
hold 1
looping false
FreezeLastSequence true
}

action Default
{
set(1) AnimAllBody
{
when OverridePosture
{
is Jumping:
anim "Jump"
blend 1
hold 1
looping false
FreezeLastSequence true
stop
is Falling:
anim "Jump"
blend 1
hold 1
looping false
FreezeLastSequence true
stop
is Landing:
anim "idle"
blend .1
hold .5
looping false
stop
}

when BaseMode
{
is Combat:
when BasePosture
{
is Idle:
when MoveType
{
is Normal:
anim "idle"
DEFAULT:
anim "idle"
}
align False
blend 0.25
hold 0.25 seconds recycle
looping True
change AlreadyTurning to false
change CurrentMotion to Idle
is Turning:
when TurnDirection
{
is Left:
change CurrentMotion to TurningLeft
is Right:
change CurrentMotion to TurningRight
}
change AlreadyTurning to true
is Moving:
when MoveDirection
{
is Forward:
when MoveType
{
is Normal:
anim "Run"
DEFAULT:
anim "Run"
}
blend 0 
hold 0 seconds
change CurrentMotion to Forward
is Backward:
when MoveType
{
is Normal:
anim "Run"
DEFAULT:
anim "Run"
}
blend 0 
hold 0 seconds
change CurrentMotion to Backingup
}
looping True
change AlreadyTurning to false
}
}
}
}

Run.asq
Code: [Select]
!
! Animation Sequence Spec: Run
! 06/23/2013 15:06
!
Version=1
[ABILITIES]
  Apply Animation
    .Animation=Run.hgm
    .InitialSpeed=1
    .InitialLoop=True
    .InitialAlign=False
    .Preload=False

EDIT Here's the video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__foPUQjgv0&feature=youtu.be
« Last Edit: Jun 24, 13, 02:12:28 PM by HE-Cooper »
Logged

keeperofstars

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 998
    • View Profile
    • StarKeeper Online
Re: Character Movement Not Working Properly....
« Reply #1 on: Jun 23, 13, 09:00:53 PM »

Is your animations just 1 single foot cycle or does it have more than 1 cycle?

meaning is it just one cycle of left foot up, left foot down, right up, right down. Done? Or does it have more than the one?

scripts and all seem fine, just looks like a choppy animation that needs smoothed between it's leg position and it's root bone location to smooth things out.
Logged
[img]http://screencast.com/t/x7btcSSyp3h0[\img]

shockdot

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Character Movement Not Working Properly....
« Reply #2 on: Jun 24, 13, 02:26:49 AM »

Is your animations just 1 single foot cycle or does it have more than 1 cycle?

meaning is it just one cycle of left foot up, left foot down, right up, right down. Done? Or does it have more than the one?

scripts and all seem fine, just looks like a choppy animation that needs smoothed between it's leg position and it's root bone location to smooth things out.
I figured that it was this after I posted this and left for work...

It's 1 cycle... Uploading a video, for you to see.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-8uPnYJfXg&feature=youtu.be

I smoothed out the animation a little bit so I think that is the problem.... But now I have another problem, the character doesn't move a normal distance... More like 1/10th of what it should be moving.

This is because I had to shrink the amount of distance the SRB was moved in the Y-Axis in order for it to be a smooth move. Here's a video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IyX1T0sOoEA&feature=youtu.be

So my question is, is there anyways for me to increase the distance the character moves without increasing the Y-Position movement of the SRB...?
« Last Edit: Jun 24, 13, 02:29:38 AM by shockdot »
Logged

uexilon

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Character Movement Not Working Properly....
« Reply #3 on: Jun 24, 13, 03:07:59 AM »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-8uPnYJfXg&feature=youtu.be

Well.. what I see in this Scene is that the srb compared to the size of the model doesn't go far enough.. how big is you character?

This rather Looks like in place Animation. The Srb is bound to you bip01 bone, you don't Need to animate the srb itself. So with the Animation you already have, you just Need to Animate the bip01 bone to move a bit further on the y axis.

Logged

McMagic

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • Novus Inceptio
Re: Character Movement Not Working Properly....
« Reply #4 on: Jun 24, 13, 03:36:16 AM »

...
« Last Edit: Mar 07, 14, 03:44:46 PM by McMagic »
Logged

shockdot

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Character Movement Not Working Properly....
« Reply #5 on: Jun 24, 13, 09:12:29 AM »

Thank you to McMagic and uexilon!

I didn't realize that the Character had to move with the SRB so I wasn't animating it's movement at all! I have a much better animation now that isn't choppy and atm still doesn't move far enough, but I'm fixing that right now.

Thanks a bunch guys.

Logged