HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: Half poly seamless area size.  (Read 2924 times)

McMagic

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • Novus Inceptio
Half poly seamless area size.
« on: Aug 02, 13, 02:46:45 AM »

...
« Last Edit: Mar 07, 14, 03:29:40 PM by McMagic »
Logged

McMagic

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • Novus Inceptio
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #1 on: Aug 02, 13, 06:32:04 AM »

...
« Last Edit: Mar 07, 14, 03:29:47 PM by McMagic »
Logged

AWW_boss

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 846
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #2 on: Aug 02, 13, 07:21:33 AM »

my head exploded :D
Logged

AWW_boss

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 846
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #3 on: Aug 02, 13, 07:28:04 AM »

Well, anyways, instead of giving you an usefull answer, i'm just going to tell you that it took me a couple of weeks of experimenting to get a result i liked when it comes to world machine 2 hero engine import.
Logged

McMagic

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • Novus Inceptio
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #4 on: Aug 02, 13, 07:38:59 AM »

...
« Last Edit: Mar 07, 14, 03:29:58 PM by McMagic »
Logged

AWW_boss

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 846
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #5 on: Aug 02, 13, 08:57:34 AM »

From what i've seen it's only the number of polygons that affects the performance. It doesn't really matter if you set the HALF. Of course if you set HALF you'll get more size and less quality, but performance will remain the same. Hope it helps.
Logged

keeperofstars

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 998
    • View Profile
    • StarKeeper Online
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #6 on: Aug 02, 13, 09:18:14 AM »

Eh performance of the height map will remain the same. But remember you are still adding more playable area, which means more work for a single area to do.

So really using half is really dependent on the area and what is going to happen in it.

So a large empty desert where players aren't going to congregate is probably a candidate for making a larger area via half resolution.

A city area, isn't going to matter if it's half or regular, cause the real work load is never going to be the heightmap it's going to be everything the server needs to keep track of in that one area.

So making it half to gain more area, is no different than making a larger regular heightmap. Cause your going to still need to worry about how many people at any given time I plan to cram in here, and how many objects are going to be in the scene at any time.

Now there is a small performance gain for the immediate draw calling, cause you are loading more area with less work. So if your view distance is 200 meters and 200 verts to draw it, and you go half resolution, you are getting that 200 meters for 100 verts. So in that aspect it's an improvement.
However the main concern is still the overall amount of people, and objects the area will have to interact with.
So don't think making a half resolution area gets you out of the limits of keeping the area relatively small, especially in areas with lots of consolidation of players.
Logged
[img]http://screencast.com/t/x7btcSSyp3h0[\img]

McMagic

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • Novus Inceptio
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #7 on: Aug 02, 13, 09:27:03 AM »

...
« Last Edit: Mar 07, 14, 03:30:06 PM by McMagic »
Logged

keeperofstars

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 998
    • View Profile
    • StarKeeper Online
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #8 on: Aug 02, 13, 09:30:10 AM »

so yes then go half for performance.

Just wanted to make sure, cause ive seen some people think making it half means you can make massive areas, with no worries.
Logged
[img]http://screencast.com/t/x7btcSSyp3h0[\img]

McMagic

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • Novus Inceptio
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #9 on: Aug 02, 13, 11:29:30 AM »

...
« Last Edit: Mar 07, 14, 03:30:17 PM by McMagic »
Logged

AWW_boss

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 846
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #10 on: Aug 02, 13, 11:33:39 AM »

That video you posted... that is one area or couple of seamlessly connected areas?
Logged

McMagic

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • Novus Inceptio
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #11 on: Aug 02, 13, 11:48:30 AM »

...
« Last Edit: Mar 07, 14, 03:30:25 PM by McMagic »
Logged

Stadi_Thompson

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #12 on: Aug 21, 13, 03:44:42 PM »

Keep in mind, world machine size does not matter. Hero only looks at the pixels of your heightmap. If your heightmap exported from world machine is 500x500 pixels, IT'S GOING TO BE 1kmx1km when you import it into hero (standard resolution)! Then if you make it HALF terrain resolutin it will be 2kmx2km.

We use HALF resolution terrain for The Repopualtion. It saves a ton of memory. Looks like you are on the right track. 250m rule is nothing you need to worry about, whether your area is 20m or 700m, the hit when crossing over to the next zone is going to be effected by how many objects and textures are required to load. Terrain size does have a small effect , but i'd be more worried about the objects/textures in the neighboring areas than a few 100 meters of terrain.
« Last Edit: Aug 21, 13, 03:55:31 PM by Stadi_Thompson »
Logged

keeperofstars

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 998
    • View Profile
    • StarKeeper Online
Re: Half poly seamless area size.
« Reply #13 on: Aug 21, 13, 06:32:47 PM »

half or regular resolution both work, while half makes it easier to save yourself memory, smart use of terrain occluding and you can use regular resolution, and have the same memory foot print as with half, well nearly same.

Now why even deal with regular, well you lose half the vertices to work with, not bad if you are building heightmaps outside of the engine, but you lose lots of control when you need to make edits in the game, even if you are building them outside and then need to make edits to them to get them to match.

Memory wise terrain size has zero affect, same with client side, having a 1km area vs a 200 has no impact.

The total landmass has zero affect on performance. THE TOTAL PLAYABLE AREA is what affects things. basically the more players in an area and the more data needed to be managed by the area the smaller the area needs to be. "with a certain amount of balance" But typically if you have a ton of high combat data with tons of people. The area size comes into "play" on the aspects of there is more room for more players in that 1 area.

Logged
[img]http://screencast.com/t/x7btcSSyp3h0[\img]