HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: Dev with Plan Z studios  (Read 2647 times)

Thazager

• General Accounts
  • Never stop learning
    • View Profile
Dev with Plan Z studios
« on: Sep 28, 13, 01:11:21 AM »

I was hoping to add my intro once our Group was posted, but not sure how long that might be.

Hello all, I am an old programmer of 50. That is I used to work on video games back in the 1980s - 1990s. I started in high school with basic (unused these days), then went to college part time to learn a few others like fortran (unused), cobol (unused), pascal (unused), assembly, C++, C# (unused). I worked with an indie group in a basement making games. I did the art conversion for 1 arcade game to a Nintendo game - assembly 6502. I worked on Golden Axe, converting the art from sega to PC, and added the story - assembly 8086. I helped program a children's game, making 4 of the gaming sections - assembly 80286. I also worked on a few games in assembly just for learning.

During the time I was going to college, I also had to help out at home with paying the bills, so I was working different jobs.

A few years ago, I went back to college to get a degree in computers. Most of the classes would not transfer as they were considered too old, so I had to mostly start over. I grabbed a video game degree from Devry in "games and simulation programming" with an easy 4.0 GPA. They made it easy when they put it online. We made some games for class, but nothing too fancy. I had made my own small engine in C++ and used it for 1 of the class games I made. We did a few in Unity also for other classes with a group.