HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: Setting Slots to be Empty by Default  (Read 2196 times)

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Setting Slots to be Empty by Default
« on: Nov 25, 13, 09:43:36 PM »

We're working on setting up a parts file for our dynamic characters, and would like to know what's the correct way of setting up a slot to be empty be default.

Do we just need to marks it like this:

Quote
slotName: Empty, empty

Or do we need to add in a keyword like this:

Quote
slotName: Empty,empty
   Keyword=default

And when using subslots for a default empty slot, do they also have to be marked as empty?
For example:

Quote
Belt: Empty,empty,
   Subslot=Buckle: Empty, empty
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

Stadi_Thompson

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: Setting Slots to be Empty by Default
« Reply #1 on: Nov 25, 13, 11:48:41 PM »

Code: [Select]
[Root]
\Character\Dynamic_2\repopmale1\

[Slots]
!
! The slots are the areas defined for the Human in which various parts can go
!
Head
   Keyword=handled:ignore;
Hair
   Keyword=type:hair;palettes:Hair Color,Shine,Highlights,Accessories;
FirstPerson
   Keyword=handled:ignore;
   
face_hair
  Keyword=type:face_hair;

eyes_mouth
    Keyword=type:eyes_mouth;palettes:Eye Color;

Head_Gear
 Keyword=type:headgear;

Upper Body

Arms
   Keyword=handled:synced;
Bare Arms
    Keyword=type:bare arms;palettes:arms bare;
Weapons
    Keyword=type:Weapons;   

Neck
 Keyword=type:Neck;
 
FPS_Arm
 Keyword=type:FPS_Arm;

Lower Body

Legs
   Keyword=handled:synced;


[Divisions]
Head: Head,Hair,eyes_mouth,face_hair,Head_Gear,FirstPerson
Upper Body: Upper Body,Arms,Bare Arms
Lower Body: Lower Body,Legs

[Parts]
!
! Slot: Part,GR2file
!
Head: Head,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\rm2_head.hgm

eyes_mouth: eye_mouth,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\eyes_mouth.hgm

   
face_hair: None,empty
face_hair: moustache_beard,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\hair\moustache_goatee.hgm

Hair: Bald,empty
Hair: Short Style 12,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\hair\rm_hair_lowcut.hgm
Hair: Short Style 11,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\hair\rm_hair_short11.hgm

Head_Gear: None,empty
Head_Gear: helmet1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\helmets\helmet1.hgm
   % hides(Hair)
   % hides(face_hair)
Head_Gear: helmet2,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\helmets\rm_helmet2.hgm
   % hides(Hair)
   % hides(face_hair)


Bare Arms: BareArms,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\arms_base.hgm

Upper Body: Bare,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\upperbody\upper_body_base.hgm
Upper Body: Start Vest,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\upperbody\start_vest.hgm
Upper Body: Light Set1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\upperbody\light_set1_ub.hgm



Arms: Bare,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\arms_base.hgm
Arms: Light Set1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\arms_light_set1.hgm
Arms: Heavy Set1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\arms_heavy_set1.hgm
Arms: Heavy Set2,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\rm_heavy2_arms.hgm
   % hides(Bare Arms)


Lower Body: Bare,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\lowerbody\lower_body_base.hgm
Lower Body: Merc Pants,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\lowerbody\rm_merc_pants.hgm
Lower Body: Start Pants,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\lowerbody\start_pants.hgm


Legs: Bare,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\legs\legs_base.hgm
Legs: Merch Feet,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\legs\rm_merc_feet.hgm
Legs: Light Set1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\legs\legs_light_set1.hgm
« Last Edit: Nov 25, 13, 11:50:17 PM by Stadi_Thompson »
Logged

HE-BENNETT

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
    • View Profile
Re: Setting Slots to be Empty by Default
« Reply #2 on: Nov 26, 13, 12:53:10 PM »

You don't always need a keyword and you don't HAVE to include an Empty,empty value for each slot/subslot . . . but you will probably want one.
Logged

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Setting Slots to be Empty by Default
« Reply #3 on: Nov 26, 13, 01:56:59 PM »

You don't always need a keyword and you don't HAVE to include an Empty,empty value for each slot/subslot . . . but you will probably want one.

Why we were wondering is that we want our player character models to be presented to players as a sort of blank canvas, with only a basic human shape on show, so the slots for things like wings, capes, hair, tails, and so on would be empty by default, so that only a basic human form was visible when players first choose the body.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Setting Slots to be Empty by Default
« Reply #4 on: Nov 26, 13, 02:18:03 PM »

Code: [Select]
[Root]
\Character\Dynamic_2\repopmale1\

[Slots]
!
! The slots are the areas defined for the Human in which various parts can go
!
Head
   Keyword=handled:ignore;
Hair
   Keyword=type:hair;palettes:Hair Color,Shine,Highlights,Accessories;
FirstPerson
   Keyword=handled:ignore;
   
face_hair
  Keyword=type:face_hair;

eyes_mouth
    Keyword=type:eyes_mouth;palettes:Eye Color;

Head_Gear
 Keyword=type:headgear;

Upper Body

Arms
   Keyword=handled:synced;
Bare Arms
    Keyword=type:bare arms;palettes:arms bare;
Weapons
    Keyword=type:Weapons;   

Neck
 Keyword=type:Neck;
 
FPS_Arm
 Keyword=type:FPS_Arm;

Lower Body

Legs
   Keyword=handled:synced;


[Divisions]
Head: Head,Hair,eyes_mouth,face_hair,Head_Gear,FirstPerson
Upper Body: Upper Body,Arms,Bare Arms
Lower Body: Lower Body,Legs

[Parts]
!
! Slot: Part,GR2file
!
Head: Head,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\rm2_head.hgm

eyes_mouth: eye_mouth,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\eyes_mouth.hgm

   
face_hair: None,empty
face_hair: moustache_beard,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\hair\moustache_goatee.hgm

Hair: Bald,empty
Hair: Short Style 12,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\hair\rm_hair_lowcut.hgm
Hair: Short Style 11,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\hair\rm_hair_short11.hgm

Head_Gear: None,empty
Head_Gear: helmet1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\helmets\helmet1.hgm
   % hides(Hair)
   % hides(face_hair)
Head_Gear: helmet2,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\helmets\rm_helmet2.hgm
   % hides(Hair)
   % hides(face_hair)


Bare Arms: BareArms,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\arms_base.hgm

Upper Body: Bare,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\upperbody\upper_body_base.hgm
Upper Body: Start Vest,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\upperbody\start_vest.hgm
Upper Body: Light Set1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\upperbody\light_set1_ub.hgm



Arms: Bare,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\arms_base.hgm
Arms: Light Set1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\arms_light_set1.hgm
Arms: Heavy Set1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\arms_heavy_set1.hgm
Arms: Heavy Set2,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\arms\rm_heavy2_arms.hgm
   % hides(Bare Arms)


Lower Body: Bare,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\lowerbody\lower_body_base.hgm
Lower Body: Merc Pants,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\lowerbody\rm_merc_pants.hgm
Lower Body: Start Pants,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\lowerbody\start_pants.hgm


Legs: Bare,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\legs\legs_base.hgm
Legs: Merch Feet,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\legs\rm_merc_feet.hgm
Legs: Light Set1,Character\dynamic_2\repopmale1\legs\legs_light_set1.hgm

Thanks for posting that.
The keywords "type:" and "handled:" don't appear in the HE wiki guide to parts files - what particular functions are you using them for?

We're also wondering if you're using any kind of pattern overlays, and if you are, how you're handling it - as we're making a comic book game, it's pretty important to give players the option to add patterns to clothing - for example, they might pick a traditional spandex/leather bodysuit, tint it green, then add lightning bolt patterns to arms and legs, and tint the patterns red.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

keeperofstars

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 998
    • View Profile
    • StarKeeper Online
Re: Setting Slots to be Empty by Default
« Reply #5 on: Nov 26, 13, 09:09:48 PM »

Quote
Keywords

Keywords are properties that allow you to stuff arbitrary string data into a slot, part, layer, or piece. HSL script have access to these, so feel free to use keywords to add whatever data your UI needs. The syntax is as follows:

Keyword=whateverKeywordDataYouWantHere

The only restriction on the string on the right side of the = is that it doesn't have an = in it.

As with all settings, a piece inherits its layer's keyword if the piece doesn't have its own override. Likewise, a part also inherits its slot's keyword if the part doesn't have one specified.

An example keyword might be:

 Keyword=wearable,category:headwear

Again, keywords are simply data that you would pass along to HSL scripts that need it. This is a utility for your UI designers to interface with the intentions of the artists. Work with the UI designer/implementors on what your available keywords should be.

Keywords are accessed in HSL scripts using any of the following flavors of GetKeyword:

Straight from wiki, basically a keyword can be anything you want it to be in any format or string you want. Only restriction is can't have another = sign in it.

It's just a way to provide a "keyword" term for HSL to access, from that point on it's up for you to decide what or how you want to do with it.

Logged
[img]http://screencast.com/t/x7btcSSyp3h0[\img]

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Setting Slots to be Empty by Default
« Reply #6 on: Nov 27, 13, 06:40:12 PM »

I know, but we're interested to know how they were using them.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

Stadi_Thompson

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: Setting Slots to be Empty by Default
« Reply #7 on: Nov 28, 13, 09:05:58 PM »

Thanks for posting that.
The keywords "type:" and "handled:" don't appear in the HE wiki guide to parts files - what particular functions are you using them for?

We're also wondering if you're using any kind of pattern overlays, and if you are, how you're handling it - as we're making a comic book game, it's pretty important to give players the option to add patterns to clothing - for example, they might pick a traditional spandex/leather bodysuit, tint it green, then add lightning bolt patterns to arms and legs, and tint the patterns red.

For overlays and patterns, you want to do that in the .dtb files associated with the texturebank mesh. Example the dwarf facial tattoos you see in heros journey is done inside the head.dtb file looks like this:

Code: [Select]
!
! Texture bank definition
!
[Root]
Character\Dynamic_2\TextureBanks\head\

[Layout]
-Head Base
-Face Detail

[Layers]
{Head Base}
   Type=Skin
   Region=(0,0,511,511)
   {Settings}
     Palette1=Skin,SkinBlend.dds
     DefaultColor1=#.5,0,.5,1
   {Files}
     (512,512)
     head_caucasian.dds,head_1_n.dds,head_african.dds,head_asian.dds
   {Pieces}
     Default

{Face Detail}
   Type=Tint4
   Region=(0,0,511,511)
   {Settings}
     Palette1=Eyebrows,default_2.dds
     DefaultColor1=#0,0,0,1
     Palette2=Lips,default_2.dds
     Palette3=details 1,default_2.dds
     Palette4=details 2,default_2.dds
   {Files}
     (512,512)
     Look_1_d.dds,Look_1_t.dds
     Look_2_d.dds,Look_2_t.dds
     Look_3_d.dds,Look_3_t.dds
     Look_4_d.dds,Look_4_t.dds
     Look_5_d.dds,Look_5_t.dds
     Look_6_d.dds,Look_6_t.dds
     Look_7_d.dds,Look_7_t.dds
     Look_8_d.dds,Look_8_t.dds
     Look_9_d.dds,Look_9_t.dds
     Look_10_d.dds,Look_10_t.dds
   {Pieces}
     Look 1
     Look 2
     Look 3
     Look 4
     Look 5
     Look 6
     Look 7
     Look 8
     Look 9

Look_1_d.dds is a dds with a face tattoo on alpha (with the head's UVs). So you do that for your lightning bolt pattern in your shirt's .dtb.

As far as the "handled" calls in the par file, no idea if Josh uses that or not (he'd have to chime in on that), was kind of left over, something I seen in some Hero's Journey files. Keepersofstars answer covered more of that.
« Last Edit: Nov 28, 13, 09:15:18 PM by Stadi_Thompson »
Logged