HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid  (Read 3857 times)

CRiley

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • PR and Support
    • View Profile

Recently, the models I have been building are no longer Solid.  I can see them there, they block view to other objects, but when the HE player character walks up to them, or the camera approaches them, they go through them like they don't exist.  I've checked the Physics tab, and they seem to be non-existent there as well.  I've tried to redo them in the Repository browser dozens of times now and to no avail.  Help??

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #1 on: Feb 25, 14, 10:25:36 PM »

How big are these meshes? There's a limit of about 100 meters for the height, width and depth of any model - any bigger than that, and the collision detection gets messed up.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #2 on: Feb 25, 14, 11:10:58 PM »

Physics is disabled on objects over 100 meters, rather than gets messed up. I would check the console for errors, then see if you have possibly left a hull or group in the scene that could be functioning as an alternate collision volume. In the properties panel you could also change the volume to use a simple cube and see what the outcome is.
Logged

CRiley

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • PR and Support
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #3 on: Feb 25, 14, 11:13:44 PM »

The object in question stands at about 6.5 meters tall, and there shouldn't be any other meshes in the way.  When I first uploaded it however it was Quite large...  But I have since re-uploaded it at the correct size. 

EDIT: However, I just realized that it sounded like the issue was fixed.  I re-uploaded the Asset at the correct size but Player still walks through the pillar asset I'm having the current issue with.
« Last Edit: Feb 25, 14, 11:50:26 PM by FiveRingsForums »
Logged

WorldWideZ

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #4 on: Feb 26, 14, 12:36:09 AM »

Does your model have LOD stages like the other post?
Logged

CRiley

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • PR and Support
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #5 on: Feb 26, 14, 12:48:12 AM »

It does not.  Just a HeroShader set to Collide.

WorldWideZ

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #6 on: Feb 26, 14, 01:40:10 AM »

can you post a wire frame model of the asset? either engine or max would do
Logged

Chromehound

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #7 on: Feb 26, 14, 09:41:14 AM »

Did you restart the client after re-uploading?  Sometimes the physics won't update if you're still in there.
Logged

CRiley

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • PR and Support
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #8 on: Feb 26, 14, 12:23:45 PM »

I have re-booted the Server client repeatedly, and re-uploaded the Asset, to no avail.  This is a picture of the mesh that WWZ requested.  Still not sure what's going on with it.

WorldWideZ

  • World Owners
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #9 on: Feb 26, 14, 01:01:16 PM »

Some one with more exact knowledge than me might be able to confirm this for sure , but i think you need triangles in that mesh not squares , i think add a tessellation modifier to it
Logged

CRiley

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • PR and Support
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #10 on: Feb 26, 14, 01:07:12 PM »

I'll give it a Shot WWZ.  Thanks.  I'll let you know if it worked.

CRiley

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • PR and Support
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #11 on: Feb 26, 14, 01:19:51 PM »

Didn't work...  Still not sure what's going on.  I do all my work in blender, then transfer to Maya, then upload to Hero. 

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #12 on: Feb 26, 14, 02:39:13 PM »

I use Max, but if you like, you can send me the mesh and texture, and I can try exporting it to see if it works for me or not - it might help to narrow down what the problem is.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

CRiley

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • PR and Support
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #13 on: Feb 26, 14, 02:57:37 PM »

Sure, I'll send you a message now with the files now.  Thanks Amanda!

CRiley

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • PR and Support
    • View Profile
Re: Player Character walks THROUGH objects that should be solid
« Reply #14 on: Feb 26, 14, 04:17:13 PM »

Hey Amanda, I can't attach the Files to the Private message, can you send me your email in a PM?
Pages: [1] 2