HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: [Question] - Mixamo and 3ds Max  (Read 13279 times)

Jarvis

• World Owners
    • View Profile
[Question] - Mixamo and 3ds Max
« on: May 04, 14, 03:22:08 PM »

Hello all, just starting out with HeroEngine and followed some of the essential tutorials.

I have done the Art Pipeline tutorial/Cube tutorial where you make and texture your own cube. I was using Autodesk 3ds Max and did the "Setting up 3ds Max" tutorial. However I am not quite sure how to make a humanoid character. I used Mixamo to export just a basic character (in the attachment) but I am not sure how to get it into HeroEngine. The tutorial had me setup 3ds Max 2014 which I did and I see the HeroEngine Exporter and all of the tools are fine. I just do not know what to do from there. I am not an expert at modelling and only took a semester in Animation so I have basic knowledge but it seems not enough to do this.

Can somebody teach and show me how to get a character from Mixamo into HeroEngine? I am using Autodesk 3ds Max 2014 however I also have Autodesk Maya 2014. The character will be dynamic but static is acceptable just enough to learn how to get something in the engine. I already know how to actually import it (using the Repository Browser) just need to learn how to setup the character.

Thanks in advance.

feredfn

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] - Mixamo and 3ds Max
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 14, 12:35:26 AM »

I've done this using Maya to test some systems in my game while im waiting to get my own characters,..
in short :

i downloaded a free model
gave it a Hero Material
renamed the root bone to Bip01
Created the SRB joint
Exported via character and then export tools
and Exported animations separately

That's all ,..
and its rendering in game perfectly.

WorldWideZ

• World Owners
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Zed
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 14, 01:14:29 AM »