HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved] Connecting River to other bodies of water  (Read 2073 times)

WoE-Byron

  • World Owner
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • WoE Online Project Manager
    • View Profile
    • Carbon Studios
[Resolved] Connecting River to other bodies of water
« on: Jul 22, 11, 11:09:38 PM »

Is there a way to connect rivers to other bodies of water? I have a mountain lake with a river that comes down into an ocean and I am having difficulty making it line up and/or connect.
« Last Edit: Oct 31, 12, 02:58:03 PM by HE-Cooper »
Logged

Alex

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #1 on: Jul 24, 11, 12:29:02 AM »

Without getting too technical: Fake it.

Whip up some particle effects to make a "water splashing" effect along where the two bodies meet.  Have the river sort of "waterfall" into the ocean.  It'll look realistic and you don't need to worry about "seams" or the flow looking off.  Stick some rocks in there to obscure the meeting point a bit more and bam!
Logged

WoE-Byron

  • World Owner
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • WoE Online Project Manager
    • View Profile
    • Carbon Studios
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #2 on: Jul 24, 11, 12:50:44 AM »

This is what we already do, however I was just wondering if there was some engine mechanics that we were missing out on knowing about since hero engine has a lot of hidden goodies.  :)
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #3 on: Jul 24, 11, 09:55:26 AM »

Correct, there isn't technically a feature that fuses rivers to static bodies of water, as the textures would end of being wonky anyways. Rocks and Froth and Particle effects, oh my.
Logged

WoE-Byron

  • World Owner
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • WoE Online Project Manager
    • View Profile
    • Carbon Studios
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #4 on: Jul 24, 11, 02:48:08 PM »

Not a problem guys! As I stated above, we are currently using Rocks and Particles to deal with this sort of graphical situation.
Logged

rustyblades

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #5 on: Jul 25, 11, 04:39:31 PM »

A more extreme method would be to just model the river/large body of water and tuck the HE water zone just underneath it.
Logged

WoE-Byron

  • World Owner
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • WoE Online Project Manager
    • View Profile
    • Carbon Studios
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #6 on: Jul 25, 11, 05:56:48 PM »

That is not very efficient for large scale mmo/world development.
Logged

MsSarrene

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • Triad Game Studios, LLC.
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #7 on: Jul 25, 11, 07:35:19 PM »

I hope you can find a way that works for you DragonRift.
The thing to remember is that close to 90% of all graphic side of game play is illusion. How you create something in the back end does not really matter front end wise so long as you:
  • 1) have efficient models/textures/performance (performance vs target audience is the key thing to keep in mind)
    2) It displays to the player what you wanted to achieve.

I would say that close to 90% if not more in some situations of cell design has been more illusion than actual new assets or scripts in my own experience.

I hope I make sense in this. Sometimes I can ramble on a wee bit- trying not to this time.

Peace,
Sarrene'

rustyblades

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #8 on: Jul 26, 11, 10:41:00 AM »

That is not very efficient for large scale mmo/world development.

It wouldn't require a big piece, just a larger size piece where the river meets the lake.  I imagine that the texture/shader for the model could be set to be the same as what is used by default by hero engine.
Logged

WoE-Byron

  • World Owner
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • WoE Online Project Manager
    • View Profile
    • Carbon Studios
Re: Connecting River to other bodies of water
« Reply #9 on: Jul 26, 11, 10:43:40 AM »

I am just going to use the conventional way of addressing the situation. It really is not a big problem considering how nice it is to have the spline rivers to begin with.
Logged