HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine  (Read 5695 times)

AWW_boss

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 846
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« on: Jun 02, 14, 02:01:25 AM »

Has anyone created a good looking arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine?

Please let me have a look at your work if you did!
Logged

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
« Last Edit: Jun 02, 14, 08:43:13 AM by Amanda_Brooks »
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

AWW_boss

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 846
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #2 on: Jun 02, 14, 09:10:55 AM »

Is that from SWTOR? No, that does not count. But Hoth is hot, something i am looking for, although it seems those are meshes and not terrain. I would prefer something that looks cool, but made only with terrain textures and evironment schemes.
« Last Edit: Jun 02, 14, 09:12:52 AM by AWW_boss »
Logged

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #3 on: Jun 02, 14, 10:09:26 AM »

I think that it should still count - even though they were a huge team with a huge budget, they were still using the HE terrain editor and art pipeline to import their meshes, so an indie team can still use them as an example of how to create certain types of environments.

The same goes for TESO, too: http://tamrielfoundry.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Skyrim.jpg - if you've spent enough time in then HE, then you can start to pick apart screenshots from HE games and figure out how they put the environments together.

I also don't think that it's possible to create what you're looking for just with the terrain editor and no meshes.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

AWW_boss

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 846
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #4 on: Jun 02, 14, 10:35:22 AM »

ok, it can count if you insist :)

nevertheless, i'd prefer some pictures from people within the indie community. someone who'd be willing to share tips and tricks.
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #5 on: Jun 02, 14, 10:51:55 AM »

Attempting to get great looking areas by using only the terrain tool is certainly going to be tough, but it's doable with smart manipulation of normals and vertex color. But modeled "rocks, mountains, hillsides" are tough to do without. Ice and desert areas are two of the few you could pull off, as diffuse and normals are going to account for half of how good looking the area is.

For things like arctic or alpine, you have to identify what makes those areas feel like what they are on the microcosmic scale. You're never going to achieve the sweeping helicopter overhead cinematic feeling that most new world builders think they will be able to, so instead, you have to identify what those areas are at the 5 feet around the player, the 100 feet around the player, and then the very occasional 1000 feet around the player.

If you are only planning on using a terrain editor, then I would probably punt on an arctic mountain range, but if you had to, then you'll want a diverse amount of normals in which you've compacted them, so that vertically stretched faces and scaled up settings will keep them looking interesting. And then you'll just want 5 or 6 diffuse textures that all blend perfectly. Avoid smoothing or polishing any terrain verts until you have an area's gameplay how you'd like it, and then use do a single cleanup brush of the same type and density everywhere. This will leave a lot of unarctic feeling sections. So put vert editing tools away, and embrace what's left by using vertex color and texture to polish them up. Occasional copses of trees and rocks go a long way.
Logged

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #6 on: Jun 02, 14, 12:18:08 PM »

The Repopulation has some icy areas, but they're also using meshes - http://without-origins.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/the-repopulation-04.jpg
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #7 on: Jun 03, 14, 12:13:24 AM »

If you're just looking to make something to fly over, and not something that players will interact with, then maybe something like this would be good? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6bnH_ZPYlU - the Alpine bit is at the 5 second mark.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

AWW_boss

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 846
  • gdfgd
    • View Profile
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #8 on: Jun 03, 14, 02:18:28 AM »

If you're just looking to make something to fly over, and not something that players will interact with, then maybe something like this would be good? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6bnH_ZPYlU - the Alpine bit is at the 5 second mark.
Isn't this unity engine?

Yes, i am working on a flight simulator so i need a fly over alpine scenery, and my requirements are slightly different from other "human perspective" mmos. I am currently fighting with the challenges of tiling (If the texture is seen from a much larger distance, repetition creates a visually rather pronounced pattern) and resolution (If the texture is seen from a much smaller distance makes the terrain look coarse-grained and unrealistic).

Any tips and tricks on how to fight these challenges in a flight simulator on heroengine would be very welcome.

I read here that one solution to the problem is "Procedural texturing", but i guess this is not something that Heroengine has:

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Procedural_Texturing

Hopefully i will be able to use some bits from this article and apply it to my terrain.

« Last Edit: Jun 03, 14, 02:23:51 AM by AWW_boss »
Logged

HE-Cooper

  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
    • View Profile
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #9 on: Jun 03, 14, 09:27:17 AM »

Procedural texturing is great for that retro 1999 look and feel. :-)
At the end of the day there's just not generic many generic systems to make the same texture at the same resolution look perfect from 1000 meters and from 1 meter. GTA has an interesting few systems that let them pump out blend maps at different distances, but you're just going to have to nail your terrain textures. I'm not familiar with the project, but it sounds like you might want to be modeling all of your landscape and using an LOD system to manage resolution of poly and materials, and forego the terrain system entirely.
Logged

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #10 on: Jun 03, 14, 10:13:31 AM »

Isn't this unity engine?

Yes - but they're just low poly FBX meshes - https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/2933 - so just run them through Max or Maya to get them into the HE.

These are also very similar - https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/17632
« Last Edit: Jun 03, 14, 10:15:38 AM by Amanda_Brooks »
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

Stadi_Thompson

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: arctic mountain / alpine environment in heroengine
« Reply #11 on: Jun 20, 14, 11:12:07 PM »





I used WorldMachine to generate the heightmap, got the snow textures from cgtextures.com and used slope limiters to paint them. Hard to impossible get realistic terrain by hand unfortunately (also time consuming), heightmap data is the way to go.
« Last Edit: Jun 20, 14, 11:27:16 PM by Stadi_Thompson »
Logged