HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Question] - How Do I Update Labels In A GUI  (Read 3336 times)

Jarvis

• World Owners
    • View Profile
[Question] - How Do I Update Labels In A GUI
« on: Aug 19, 14, 01:25:04 PM »

Hello all, I am just starting out in making GUIs.

I made stats and skills that I wish to update in a skills menu. Currently I press K and it opens up this menu.

This menu has Stat labels, and skill labels. Currently they just read out like "Constitution: " and "Forestry: " etc.

My question is, after I have created this GUI (Called SkillsGUI), how to I update it to the player values I have?

I wish for something along the lines of _statConstitution.text = "Constitution: " && STA_CONSTITUTION.

I just don't know how to code it. Thanks in advance.

Thazager

• General Accounts
  • Never stop learning
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] - How Do I Update Labels In A GUI
« Reply #1 on: Aug 19, 14, 07:33:30 PM »

The next step would be loading in values. You could start with some values hard coded, but that would be just for testing. Next would be to load them in from a saved location. If players will start with a base value and be able to add to it, the hard value could be saved on the server.

Once that part is working, next would be saving values on the character on server side. As you probably have seen, hitpoints and experience are saved on the character. When they are sent to the server side they auto save. There are a few ways of doing this. One of the easier ways is making a stat value for each similar to the hitpoints.

A step up from that would be making them into a string and putting a few values together in the same string. Another way would be making a new class called Stats, and adding in the values to that class, then add that class to the character. Either through glomming, or by making it a parent of the E_playerCharacter (this is the way I use).