HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Working with lighting and stopping overflow  (Read 3143 times)

nocake

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • BlightMMO
Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« on: Jan 19, 15, 04:53:25 PM »

How do I stop this from occurring? Is it a property in the light source? Problem with the models? etc.

Any insight is helpful, thank you in advance.




Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #1 on: Jan 19, 15, 07:03:59 PM »

You can place the interior into a separate room, along with the light - http://hewiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Rooms
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

Prometheus2012

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
    • Exile-Online
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #2 on: Jan 20, 15, 12:14:27 PM »

Physical mesh will not stop light. As amanda said, your best approach may be in making the interior a separate room.

nocake

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • BlightMMO
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #3 on: Jan 20, 15, 03:47:11 PM »

Any other approach?

This is for custom housing, making rooms will not really work for me.

Would even be satisfied to hear there will be a different approach in the new release of HE.

HE-HERB

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 530
    • View Profile
    • HeroEngine
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #4 on: Jan 20, 15, 04:05:14 PM »

Quote
Would even be satisfied to hear there will be a different approach in the new release of HE.

The next release has a number of improvements in terms of choosing affecting lights, however, it won't address this situation.

In the future, lights will be clipped so it doesn't leak through like that.

Cheers
Logged
herb marselas
graphics guy

nocake

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • BlightMMO
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #5 on: Jan 20, 15, 04:25:45 PM »

I can live with that.
« Last Edit: Jan 20, 15, 06:10:43 PM by nocake »
Logged

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #6 on: Jan 21, 15, 04:19:29 PM »

The next release has a number of improvements in terms of choosing affecting lights

Can you give anymore info on those improvements, or is it all still under wraps?
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

HE-HERB

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 530
    • View Profile
    • HeroEngine
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #7 on: Jan 21, 15, 05:26:33 PM »

In specific, the system which determines which dynamic lights affect a visual node was rewritten.  In all cases, the correct affecting light(s), if any, are used, and those that should be excluded, are excluded.  This fixes all issues where that wasn't the case.

Looking over my notes to things that I know have been discussed previously, I think it's safe to say that the release includes:
  • Max 2015 and Maya 2015 support
  • New LOD system
  • New DOM editor
  • Support for meshes with more than 64k vertices
And, of course, numerous bug fixes, performance improvements, new and upgraded middleware, and other features on both client and server.

While I can't comment on a release date, I think I can say that due to the huge, 13+ page change list, testing and acceptance took a bit longer than initially anticipated.

Cheers
Logged
herb marselas
graphics guy

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #8 on: Jan 21, 15, 07:19:36 PM »

Thanks for the reply - apart from the Max and Maya 2015 support, the other news is are new to us, especially the LOD system - we were starting seem basic planning work on how to set up our LODs to meet our requirements, but we'll put that on hold for now.

Also, I'll choose to read you using "took" instead of "is taking" as a positive sign regarding how soon we might get this update ;)
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

HE-HERB

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 530
    • View Profile
    • HeroEngine
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #9 on: Jan 21, 15, 08:48:58 PM »

The existing LOD system auto-magically decides when to drop down to lower LODs.  This can prove problematic for a number of reasons.

The new LOD system allows you to choose the distance that the LOD drops, and supports up to 10 LOD levels.

You can use the old system, the new system, or neither

Cheers


Logged
herb marselas
graphics guy

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #10 on: Jan 21, 15, 09:09:27 PM »

That sounds very flexible - although I'm trying to think of where 10 LODs would be needed - the most I've ever seen in use is about 5-6.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

keeperofstars

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 998
    • View Profile
    • StarKeeper Online
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #11 on: Jan 21, 15, 10:02:40 PM »

you get into 10 LOD levels when you start doing fancy things like terrain  and with some dx11 stuff. You are starting to see it in things like unreal where the terrain gets broken and LOD streamed into upwards of 10 LODs to allow for larger worlds with less load impacts of the terrain aspects. Usually a model it self though probably wouldn't need more than 5. 6 if it's really complex and a huge model that needs seen across the map say on a whole mountain setup etc.
Logged
[img]http://screencast.com/t/x7btcSSyp3h0[\img]

Prometheus2012

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
    • Exile-Online
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #12 on: Jan 22, 15, 08:35:15 AM »

some nice welcome news on lights and lod updates :)

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #13 on: Jan 22, 15, 08:55:26 PM »

On the subject of lights, will there be any improvements to make the glow effects more consistent when using glow materials? Right now, it tends to flicker on and off depending on the angle you look at it, and the only way to get a persistent glow is to check the "no illuminations" box, which isn't always practical for things like windows, which usually have the glass and frames sharing the same texture.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

HE-HERB

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 530
    • View Profile
    • HeroEngine
Re: Working with lighting and stopping overflow
« Reply #14 on: Jan 22, 15, 09:03:02 PM »

Glow was completely rewritten.  All bugs should be fixed, and it should support functionality that didn't work (or exist) before now that it's all part of the mesh shader.

Cheers
Logged
herb marselas
graphics guy
Pages: [1] 2