HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Need help understanding GUI  (Read 3458 times)

Amarak

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
Need help understanding GUI
« on: Apr 04, 15, 01:00:45 PM »

Hi guys. I need some help understanding how to make a list of items show up as icons. Inventory is a good example. I know that an inventory is just a list of objects, and I know the GUI on screen of the inventory is just a visual representation of that list.

In simple code, could someone please explain this to me? I've been trying to learn this concept for 2 years now but just can't seem to grasp it since I don't know anyone to ask. I almost got the concept when I studied Java, but not quite.

FI-ScottZ

• General Accounts
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: Need help understanding GUI
« Reply #1 on: Apr 04, 15, 01:33:40 PM »

The GUI system is rather large and has a lot of possibilities.  I would recommend that, like any gui, you begin if you haven't already by designing it on paper.  How it is done will depend on the details desired.

For instance, should the icons be interactive, or just present read-only information?  That would affect which control is used for the icons.

Will the list possibly show more than can be viewed in the area supplied for it? That would affect which control is used for the icon container.  The _scrollableParent is good if you want a panel that will automatically provide a scrollbar if the items do not all fit visually.  A paging system where you click buttons to flip through pages would be another possibility.

The easiest way to create guis is with the GUI Editor, where you create the control hierarchy visually.  I'd recommend working through the gui tutorials to learn the system, as it is all a bit much to cover in a forum post.

The Developer Created Tutorials also contain some hints on guis.
« Last Edit: Apr 04, 15, 01:35:44 PM by FI-ScottZ »