HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: [RESOLVED]- Quartz.G No models rendered  (Read 2421 times)

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
[RESOLVED]- Quartz.G No models rendered
« on: Aug 04, 15, 03:53:28 PM »

**Edit** NOT a win10 issue**


Hey guys,  ive relogged/restarted the blade a number of times and upon logging into Character Select, these errors appear in the console:

Code: [Select]
15:42:53: HeStartup Call...
15:42:53: SYSTEM:System:Windows version: 6
15:42:53: SYSTEM:system:Game Scale set to: 10.00
15:42:53: SYSTEM:System:Initializing HeroBlade DLL
15:42:53: SYSTEM:System:SelectionManager::Startup()
15:42:53: SYSTEM:System:GUIControl::SetupScreen()
15:42:53: SYSTEM:System:Audio plugin [FMOD] initialized successfully
15:42:53: SYSTEM:System:Audio plugin [FMOD Studio] initialized successfully
15:42:53: SYSTEM:System:DebugVisualizer Setup
15:42:53: System:HeroEngine Client DLL told version is: 2.6.3.35934
15:44:13: SYSTEM:firestorm:BaseApplication::initialize Service_Directory_Client 1438717453104 8
15:44:29: BillingChannelCallback:Message:
15:44:30: SCRIPT:[_InputHandlerClassMethods]:_OnKeyBindingsLoaded: , /heroenginekeybindings.ini
15:44:30: SCRIPT:[_InputHandlerClassMethods]:_OnKeyBindingsLoaded: , /gamekeybindings.ini
15:44:35: SYSTEM:System:  Activating Segment: demoland
15:44:35: SYSTEM:System:Reset the synchronized clock.
15:44:35: SYSTEM:System:ActivateAreaSpec 3758002374 assigning ID 1 instance 1
15:44:35: SYSTEM:System:Character Selection (3758002374) activate
15:44:36: SCRIPT:[E_BaseClientClassMethods]:Area Loaded
15:44:36: SCRIPT:[E_CharacterSelectionGUIClassMethods]:css window loading up
15:44:36: SCRIPT:[E_characterSelectionClassMethods]:loading css
15:44:36: SCRIPT:[_characterSelectionClassMethods]:Got updated names...
15:44:37: ERROR:Direct3D:Failed to create d3dx effect compiler lightpermutations.fx: inclTransforms.fx(24,9): warning X3206: 'mul': implicit truncation of vector type
inclTransforms.fx(31,16): warning X3206: 'mul': implicit truncation of vector type
inclTransforms.fx(82,16): warning X3206: 'dot': implicit truncation of vector type
inclTransforms.fx(83,16): warning X3206: 'dot': implicit truncation of vector type
inclTransforms.fx(84,16): warning X3206: 'dot': implicit truncation of vector type
inclTransforms.fx(150,11): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclTransforms.fx(151,12): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclTransforms.fx(152,13): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclTexturing.fx(43,35): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclTexturing.fx(51,35): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclTexturing.fx(58,2): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclTexturing.fx(92,2): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclTexturing.fx(97,2): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(169,15): warning X3206: 'tex2D': implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(188,15): warning X3206: 'tex2D': implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(236,15): warning X3206: 'tex2D': implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(249,42): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(277,46): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(318,9): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(326,9): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(354,7): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(374,9): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(376,9): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(284,32): warning X3206: 'CalcFog': implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(581,7): error X3004: undeclared identifier 'bGlowFull'

15:44:37: ERROR:Shaders:Failed to compile shader:lightpermutations.fx
15:44:37: ERROR:System:Failed to build shader[perm_light_dir_ambient_bones_simple_shadowmap_filterstatic_filterdynamic_ultra_2048]


No Characters are rendered in Character Select. 
Upon logging further into the game, same errors are given in console, and no models are rendered anywhere.
Heightmaps only.

Npcs/buildings/rocks etc are invisible.

SpeedTrees seem to be rendering okay.


« Last Edit: Aug 04, 15, 11:05:02 PM by ToY-Krun »
Logged

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #1 on: Aug 04, 15, 04:46:56 PM »

Took a look in the control panel and rather than upgrade the existing blade and client, it installed new copies.
I've uninstalled everything (both copies of each) and reinstalled from the accounts page, and have the same result.

No character/building/object/item models are visible. (The error I posted above remains as well)

I noticed that models in HJREF are visible, but they're all .gr2 files.  We use all .hgm files.

Amanda_Brooks

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
    • Heroes and Villains
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #2 on: Aug 04, 15, 04:49:15 PM »

We've not noticed this in our world after the update, so it might be a isolated problem.
Logged
"Heroes and Villains" - www.heroes-and-villains.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeroesAndVillainsMMORPG
Twitter: @Plan_Z_Studios

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #3 on: Aug 04, 15, 06:21:53 PM »

I wager its a compatibility issue with Win10 as this is the same error I got just once when I initially upgraded to win10.
after that , everything worked fine.

This is different however since the issue is now persisting.

I'll hold out for an official response and if thats the case I'll downgrade if need be. (going to be like pulling teeth to get the rest of the guys to do so though)

If I find a resolution I'll post it.

JGrant

  • HeroEngine
  • *****
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #4 on: Aug 04, 15, 07:23:53 PM »

Hi there,
     I am downloading the Quartz.G now and as soon as it is complete I am going to test 1st on Windows 7 then do the Upgrade to Windows 10 and test again to see if I have the issue.  It might take a little while to get back to you due to the current ISP I have but I am looking into it.

JGrant
Logged

Prometheus2012

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
    • Exile-Online
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #5 on: Aug 04, 15, 07:25:26 PM »

I had this happen a day or so before the patch, on windows 7. Went into an area and everything was black. I could select the models in an area so the big square yellow bounding box came up telling me the models were still there, but everything was transparent.

It seems to have fixed itself by going to a play area of the same zone and then going back to the edit.

Jrome90

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #6 on: Aug 04, 15, 07:26:33 PM »

I have had windows 10 since last November. No issues here.
Logged

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #7 on: Aug 04, 15, 08:16:35 PM »

Yeah I've had random issues before with models simply not appearing and just an area change fix it,  but the directX errors are occuring on world login, prior to the character selection screen. 

We can login to areas(all areas, regions and continents), but no characters are drawn (though they are loaded), or any other models besides heightmaps and speedTrees.

Also, no offense intended as I'm thankful for the win10 testers, but I imagine there are alot more test drivers/code involved in those builds than in this initial release.   Theres word there are already plans for some hotfixes for various directX issues with certain hardware/software.

**not even a striped sphere is rendered** ::)
« Last Edit: Aug 04, 15, 08:18:21 PM by ToY-Krun »
Logged

Jrome90

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #8 on: Aug 04, 15, 10:39:45 PM »

Yeah I've had random issues before with models simply not appearing and just an area change fix it,  but the directX errors are occuring on world login, prior to the character selection screen. 

We can login to areas(all areas, regions and continents), but no characters are drawn (though they are loaded), or any other models besides heightmaps and speedTrees.

Also, no offense intended as I'm thankful for the win10 testers, but I imagine there are alot more test drivers/code involved in those builds than in this initial release.   Theres word there are already plans for some hotfixes for various directX issues with certain hardware/software.

**not even a striped sphere is rendered** ::)

I got the error after logging into another world. But the character did render.
Cannot get the error again though.

Edit:

In my case it's the sky shader.
The sky was black.
« Last Edit: Aug 04, 15, 10:50:50 PM by Jrome90 »
Logged

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #9 on: Aug 04, 15, 11:04:02 PM »

hrm interesting Jrome...

With the help of Sarrene and Prometheus we narrowed down the problem on our world, so I'll post what we came up with in case it helps anyone.

It was not isolated to win10, win7 showed the same results in testing it.

Errors you might watch for :
Code: [Select]
inclLighting.fx(354,7): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(374,9): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
inclLighting.fx(376,9): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(163,19): warning X3206: 'CalcFog': implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(166,20): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(173,16): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(442,14): warning X3206: 'CalcFog': implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(477,13): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(513,19): warning X3206: implicit truncation of vector type
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(677,202): error X3004: undeclared identifier 'NUM_LAYER2_TINT_COLORS'
C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(677,104): error X3013: 'GetTintedTexel': function does not take 4 parameters

ERROR:Shaders:Failed to compile shader:tintpermutations.fx
ERROR:System:Failed to build shader[perm_light_dir_ambient_simple_shadowmap_filterstatic_filterdynamic_ultra_2048_tintpermutations]
ERROR:Direct3D:Compile effect failed incltransforms.fx: C:\Program Files (x86)\HeroEngine\HEROBLADEHC021\memory(20,9): warning X3206: 'mul': implicit truncation of vector type

Or anything similar to.   In our case, the same shaders kept popping up in these errors.

In the end, looking in the repo under:

HE\Render\shaders200a\game\

I found that these shaders were modified in todays patch and for whatever reason, upon reverting them back to the previous version, it solved the errors.


Jrome:  you "might" try the same with the skypermutations.fx file in the repo

Maybe Bennett or one of the guys can elaborate more if these wound up corrupt or if something else is at fault.

The lightpermutations.fx shader was the one causing the models to be invisible, the others didn't cause any visible problems but reverting them got rid of the existing errors.


Hope it helps

Jrome90

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: [RESOLVED]- Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #10 on: Aug 05, 15, 12:18:14 AM »

That's what I suspected. I too looked in the repository, although I checked the wrong shader directory.

Thanks for the update
Logged

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: [RESOLVED]- Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #11 on: Aug 05, 15, 01:07:01 PM »

Yeah I overlooked it myself several times before spotting it.

One final note, after reverting the shader, I still kept getting an error for the tintpermutation.fx shader and water wasn't appearing (it kept reverting to the fallback shader).

Shutting down the blade and restarting fixed the remaining errors.


its all working good now.

FI-ScottZ

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 1407
    • View Profile
    • Forever Interactive, Inc.
Re: [RESOLVED]- Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #12 on: Aug 05, 15, 03:52:37 PM »

Quote
HE\Render\shaders200a\game\

I found that these shaders were modified in todays patch and for whatever reason, upon reverting them back to the previous version, it solved the errors
I'm curious, did you compare the versions to see what changed? Maybe it is something that can easily be corrected.
Logged
Scott Zarnke
Lead Programmer, Visions of Zosimos
CTO, Forever Interactive, Inc.

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: [RESOLVED]- Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #13 on: Aug 05, 15, 04:03:45 PM »

Actually there are some differences (had the wrong file open).

I'll take a look at it and see why the changes didnt work on our end.
« Last Edit: Aug 05, 15, 04:25:24 PM by ToY-Krun »
Logged

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: [RESOLVED]- Quartz.G No models rendered
« Reply #14 on: Aug 05, 15, 04:43:51 PM »

These were the additions to the shader lightpermutations.fx

This code replaced previous code for GLOW_FULL:

At line 581

The initial error states that bGlowFull is not defined.  Perhaps we missed an update in an Include where it should be defined.

Code: [Select]
if (bGlowFull)
{
// in order to prevent any mushy filtering artifacts, pull the color from the point sampler
varDiffuseTexel = tex2D(DiffuseMaskSampler,varTexcoord);

varDiffuseTexel.rgb *= OverrideColor.rgb;
varDiffuseTexel.a = FadeFactor.a;
Out.color = varDiffuseTexel * In.VertexColor * mvGlowColorModulator * float4(2,2,2,1);
Out.color.rgb *= mfGlowIntensity;
return Out;
}

if (AlphaMode == 5) // glow mask
{
// in order to prevent any mushy filtering artifacts, pull the color from the point sampler
float4 varDiffuseMask = tex2D(DiffuseMaskSampler,varTexcoord);

if (varDiffuseMask.a > (12.0 / 255.0))
{
varDiffuseTexel.rgb = varDiffuseMask.rgb * OverrideColor.rgb;
//varDiffuseTexel.a = varDiffuseMask.a * FadeFactor.a;

Out.color = saturate(varDiffuseTexel * In.VertexColor * mvGlowColorModulator) * float4(2,2,2,1);
Out.color.rgb *= varDiffuseTexel.a;
Out.color.rgb *= mfGlowIntensity;
return Out;
}

// since the alpha value was 0, make it 1 so that fading works correctly
varFinalTexel.a = 1;
}

And another change at line 643:

Code: [Select]
// this clips any alpha that's less than the value - we use < 9, because it's more accurate than <= 8
if (AlphaMode == 2) // gradient only
{
if (Out.color.a < (9.0/255.0))
{
clip(-1);
}
}
else if (AlphaMode == 5) // glow mask
{
// do nothing
}


I haven't messed with shaders and we don't intend to, so if anyone else knows why the compiler fails on these changes, let us know.  for now we'll use the previous version.

« Last Edit: Aug 05, 15, 04:46:06 PM by ToY-Krun »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2