HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: SRB/Bone  (Read 1805 times)

amproject1

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
SRB/Bone
« on: Nov 19, 15, 10:08:42 AM »

ok, put together a test mesh with bone to help understand the process of loading and creating dynamic assets.  however when i put it together. ie. Bones all named and joined, skinned and texture added.  i get this error right off the rip.  i try to create the SRB i then get this error.   





Also : it wants me to reset xform, but when i do the mesh and bones turn sidways.  why is this doning this
« Last Edit: Nov 19, 15, 10:15:15 AM by amproject1 »
Logged

Amarak

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
Re: SRB/Bone
« Reply #1 on: Nov 19, 15, 07:18:20 PM »

I don't usually bother resetting the scale/transform on bones.

Start off with a static character, follow this tutorial:
http://hewiki.heroengine.com/wiki/Static_Character

Make sure you have a bone named Bip01 to be able to create the SRB.

I've had some problems in the past with this but got it to work.
Logged

amproject1

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SRB/Bone
« Reply #2 on: Nov 20, 15, 08:16:51 AM »

alsome, that helped got him created vie both henpc command,  says he was created in HE but he is invisible, how do i pull his properties up to find him? not sure what these settings do, leave default? or change them. 
« Last Edit: Nov 20, 15, 08:37:29 AM by amproject1 »
Logged

Amarak

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
Re: SRB/Bone
« Reply #3 on: Nov 20, 15, 09:08:11 AM »

Did you make the teture in .dds format?
Also, make sure you have the texture in your art pipeline folders, such as \HE\Character\my_character\maps\mytexture.dds
Do that on your local drive, then assign the texture, so it is the same path on HeroEngine.
Logged

amproject1

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SRB/Bone
« Reply #4 on: Nov 20, 15, 09:30:33 AM »

Yes, texture is a .dds
and here is the file location that the texture is linked to.
C:\HeroEngine\ArtDepot\HE\Character\dynamic_2\Box\Boxman\maps
Logged

amproject1

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SRB/Bone
« Reply #5 on: Nov 20, 15, 09:46:38 AM »

wow, im such a dope!!!! didnt place in Repository, working now
Logged

amproject1

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SRB/Bone
« Reply #6 on: Nov 20, 15, 09:55:52 AM »

ok take it back.   while the boxman is now showing up in the world.  he dosent when you place in the /henpc command.  but he will when i go into say library.   there is a boxman.hgm and a boxman_skelelton.hgm.  when opening their properties its as if boxman is an static asset.     
Logged

ToY-Krun

  • General Accounts
  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • Support Volunteer
    • View Profile
Re: SRB/Bone
« Reply #7 on: Nov 20, 15, 12:31:39 PM »

did you add your character to the character registry?

hit the F5 key , then tools tab, and click on character registry.

see if your character is listed there.