HeroEngine Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or Register for HeroCloud Account.

Author Topic: [Resolved| Brand New User, MMORPG, pairing with Unity questions?  (Read 4060 times)

axslayer33

• General Accounts
    • View Profile

Hi there, I am brand new to the video game design field, and I came across this product on the Unity forums.

I'm part of a group formed by a fellow high school student. We're trying to design a MMORPG based on various high-school themed animes. The basic idea is that it's your average RPG (summoners, PVP, etc) set in and around a high school. We're striving for it to be 2D anime graphics, with the out of combat view being one similar to a Visual Novel. Now, over on the Unity board, I was told that although an MMORPG is, in the bluntest of terms, an insane project for new people like us to design, I was given some tools to help with this, along with design help in unity (which none of us has used before). First off-What exactly is HeroEngine? Is it a server, or a gaming engine like RuneTek5 (the engine behind Runescape)? Can it be paired with Unity? Would it make logical sense to use this with SmartFoxServer (which if I'm reading it's site right is a hosting service)? Can we make this a free game? And finally, are we out of our minds for doing this? (don't answer that last question we already know...... ;) )
« Last Edit: Oct 21, 12, 10:48:06 PM by HE-Cooper »

WoE-Byron

• World Owner
  • WoE Online Project Manager
    • View Profile
    • Carbon Studios
Re: Brand New User, MMORPG, pairing with Unity questions?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 20, 11, 10:40:16 AM »

First off-What exactly is HeroEngine? Is it a server, or a gaming engine like RuneTek5 (the engine behind Runescape)?
HeroEngine is a all in one MMORPG Solution:

Hero Engine Information:
heroblade-all-in-one-development-environment
FAQ
Licensing